Prescott College Honors Emeritus Faculty


Prescott College honored several faculty members with faculty emeritus status at a ceremony on the Prescott College campus on Friday, May 19, 2017.

Faculty members, the Board of Trustees and special guests were on hand to recognize thirteen faculty members who have been awarded emeritus status in recent years. Gret Antilla, Joel Barnes, Grace Burford, Joan Clingan, David Craig, Tom Fleischner, Sam Henrie, Bill Litzinger, David Lovejoy, Rick Medrick, Dana Oswald, Steve Pace, Wayne Regina and Carl Tomoff have all been voted on by their peers and awarded this honor. Faculty emeritus is a post-retirement status granted after approval by the Faculty Assembly that allows faculty members to remain connected to the College community, to use College facilities and services, and to share their expertise and experience with students and colleagues. All but one honoree were present and each person was asked to speak briefly.

"There was not a dry eye in the room as each of them shared what Prescott College has meant in their lives," said President John Flicker. "The gravity of so many longtime faculty members moving on from the College - some to retire and some moving on to other things - was momentous. As much as this place has meant to them, they have meant everything to the existence of Prescott College. I'm grateful we had a chance to recognize them this way."

About Prescott College

A nationally acclaimed institution of higher education located in the central highlands of Arizona, Prescott College offers competency based programs in the liberal arts and professional disciplines with a focus on interdisciplinary and experiential education. A private, nonprofit, four-year college, Prescott College offers bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in a residential and limited residency format.