Prescott College Receives AEE Organization of the Year Award

Awarded by the Association for Experiential Education (AEE)


The Association for Experiential Education (AEE) awarded Prescott College with the 2012 Organization of the Year Award at their recent conference in Madison Wisconsin.  This award is given to organizations that maintain innovative and outstanding programming.

Prescott College embodies what AEE stands for and consistently demonstrates a high standard and higher level of commitment to support its students.  Prescott College strives to enhance the minds of its students and believes that experiential learning and self-direction will allow students to become self-sufficient and guide others.  The school emphasizes direct experience and it was founded in 1966.  

Faculty from Prescott College, were there to receive the award: Denise Mitten, adventure education chair; Steven Pace coordinator for undergraduate human development and psychology program; Erin Lotz, adventure education program coordinator; Rick Medrick, graduate chair for sustainable education; and Cheryl Schwartz, director of  the Lifelong Learning Center.


About Prescott College

Prescott College offers a resident undergraduate program at its main campus in Prescott, Ariz., as well as limited-residency bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in which students complete their studies in their home communities with the help of faculty mentors. All programs emphasize student-directed, experience-based learning-by-doing, environmental and cultural awareness, and social justice.