خدمات دعم الوصول والإعاقة

سياسات وإجراءات قانون الأميركيين ذوي الإعاقة (ADA)

Prescott College ملتزم بتوفير احتياجات الطلاب المسجلين أو المقبولين الذين يعانون من إعاقات بموجب المادة 504 من قانون إعادة التأهيل في 1973 وقانون الأمريكيين ذوي الإعاقة في 1990 (ADA). Prescott College يحظر ويثبط بنشاط التمييز ضد الأفراد ذوي الإعاقة.
تلتزم الكلية بتوفير الخدمات لأي طالب يمكنه توثيق الإعاقة بموجب القسم 504 أو ADA. تدعو سياسة الكلية إلى توفير ترتيبات معقولة للطلاب ذوي الإعاقة على أساس فردي ومرن. تقع على عاتق الطلاب ذوي الإعاقة مسؤولية طلب المساعدة المتاحة.


المعايير الأكاديمية وبيان الإقامة ADA

Prescott College لديه التزام مؤسسي بتوفير فرص تعليمية متساوية وإتاحة الوصول للطلاب المؤهلين ذوي الإعاقة وفقًا للقوانين واللوائح الفيدرالية والولائية ، بما في ذلك قانون الأميركيين ذوي الإعاقة الخاص بـ 1990 والقسم 504 من قانون إعادة التأهيل في 1973. بموجب ADA ، يجب أن يكون الطلاب الذين يطلبون أماكن إقامة ADA قادرين على أداء "المعايير الأكاديمية والتقنية الأساسية للبرنامج" ؛ يجب أن لا يؤدي توفير أماكن إقامة ADA إلى تغيير البرنامج بشكل أساسي أو المساس بالعناصر الأساسية للدورة أو المنهج ، كما أنه لا يضعف المعايير الأكاديمية أو نزاهة الدورة التدريبية. تعد أماكن الإقامة طريقة بديلة لإنجاز متطلبات الدورة التدريبية عن طريق إزالة أو تقليل الحواجز المتعلقة بالإعاقة ؛ أماكن الإقامة "تساوي الملعب" ، فهي لا توفر ميزة غير عادلة.
تتم معالجة توثيق الإعاقات بالإضافة إلى الدعوة إلى توفير أماكن معقولة من خلال أخصائي التعلم في قسم تقديم المشورة والتعلم. تعتمد الإقامة المعقولة المقدمة على طبيعة الإعاقة والبيئة الأكاديمية. Prescott College يعزز تطوير النمو الأكاديمي والشخصي ، والتعلم مدى الحياة ، والنزاهة الأكاديمية ، وكذلك المساواة في الوصول إلى جميع البرامج والخدمات والأنشطة والدورات للطلاب.


عملية الإقامة للطلاب ذوي الإعاقة

  • يجب على الطلاب ذوي الإعاقة الذين يحتاجون إلى أماكن للإقامة للوصول إلى دورات الكلية وبرامجها وخدماتها وأنشطتها ومرافقها تقديم وثائق الإعاقة إلى الموظفين المناسبين في الوقت المناسب.
  • يتم الحفاظ على سرية الوثائق المتعلقة بالإعاقة ومشاركتها مع موظفي الكلية على أساس محدود ومطلوب معرفة.
  • بناءً على وثائق الإعاقة المقدمة ، سيحدد منسق ADA ما إذا كان الطالب مؤهلاً للحصول على أماكن إقامة معقولة.
  • إذا كان الطالب مؤهلاً للحصول على أماكن معقولة ، فسيتم استكشاف التفاعل بين الإعاقة والبيئة الأكاديمية لتحديد أماكن معقولة معقولة. سيتم التشاور مع أعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين والمهنيين الخارجيين بشأن العناصر الأساسية وأماكن الإقامة المعقولة حسب الحاجة.
  • سيتم إبلاغ الطالب الذي يطلب الإقامة عن عملية توفير أماكن إقامة معقولة وسيتم توثيق جميع الأنشطة ذات الصلة في ملف الطالب السري.
  • نظرًا لأن مسؤولية توفير أماكن الإقامة غالباً ما تتضمن مدربين وطلابًا ، يمكن للمدربين الاتصال بمنسق ADA مع مخاوف أو أسئلة حول أماكن إقامة معقولة. لا يُتوقع من المدربين تسوية أو تغيير العناصر الأساسية لمعايير المقرر أو التقييم.
  • يتحمل الطلاب ذوو الإعاقة مسؤولية الاتصال بمنسق ADA إذا لم يتم تنفيذ أماكن إقامة معقولة بطريقة فعالة أو في الوقت المناسب. يعمل منسق ADA مع أعضاء هيئة التدريس والطلاب الذين يطلبون أماكن إقامة متعلقة بـ ADA لحل الخلافات المتعلقة بأماكن الإقامة الموصى بها. عند الحاجة ، يتوفر موظف ADA للمساعدة في حل الخلاف ولضمان الامتثال المؤسسي لـ ADA.
  • يمكن للطلاب ذوي الإعاقة الذين يعتقدون أنهم تعرضوا للتمييز على أساس إعاقتهم الاتصال بمنسق ADA.
  • يتحمل كل طالب مسؤولية تقديم طلبات الإقامة و / أو المساعدات و / أو الخدمات المساعدة في الوقت المناسب.

الإعاقات المؤقتة

تتوفر الخدمات للطلاب ذوي الإعاقات المؤقتة لتوفير الوصول إلى البرامج والخدمات الأكاديمية بالحرم الجامعي. لا يمكن تقديم المساعدة للمهام ذات الطبيعة الشخصية ، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، المساعدة في قضايا الرعاية الصحية. يجب على الطلاب تقديم الوثائق المناسبة لحالتهم إلى منسق ADA.


الاتصال ADA

يمكن توجيه الأسئلة والمخاوف المتعلقة بإقامة ومصادر ADA إلى:

ماري لونجبري
أدا منسق وأخصائي التعلم

الباحث: (928) 350-2259

E: accommodation@prescott.edu

كريستينا فابري
عميد مشارك للإنجاز الأكاديمي

الباحث: (928) 350-2246

E: christina.fabrey@prescott.edu

Access and Disability Support Services

Policies and Procedures for the Americans with Disability Act (ADA)

Prescott College is committed to providing for the needs of enrolled or admitted students who have disabilities under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA). Prescott College prohibits and actively discourages discrimination against individuals with disabilities.
The College is committed to make services available for any student who can document a disability under Section 504 or the ADA. College policy calls for reasonable accommodations to be made for students with disabilities on an individualized and flexible basis. It is the responsibility of students with disabilities to request available assistance.

Academic Standards and ADA Accommodation Statement

Prescott College has an institutional commitment to provide equal educational opportunities and access for qualified students with disabilities in accordance with state and federal laws and regulations, including the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Under the ADA, students requesting ADA accommodations must be able to perform the “essential academic and technical standards of the program”; providing ADA accommodations must not fundamentally alter the program or compromise the essential elements of a course or curriculum, nor does it weaken the academic standards or integrity of a course. Accommodations are an alternative way to accomplish the course requirements by eliminating or reducing disability-related barriers; accommodations “level the playing field”, they do not provide an unfair advantage.
Documentation of disabilities as well as advocacy for reasonable accommodations is handled through the Library and Learning Commons. Reasonable accommodations offered are based on the nature of the disability and the academic environment. Prescott College promotes the development of academic and personal growth, life-long learning, academic integrity, as well as equal access to all programs, services, activities and courses for students.

Kristine Preziosi (928-350-2306) is the lead for ADA accommodations and all questions and concerns should be directed to him as the ADA coordinator.

Accommodation Process for Students with Disabilities

  • Students with disabilities who require accommodations to access College courses, programs, services, activities, and facilities must provide documentation of disability to appropriate personnel in a timely manner.
  • Disability-related documents are kept confidential and shared with College personnel on a limited and need-to-know basis.
  • Based on the submitted disability documentation, the ADA coordinator will determine if the student is eligible for reasonable accommodations.
  • If the student is eligible for reasonable accommodations, the interaction between the disability and the academic environment will be explored to determine possible reasonable accommodations. Consultation with faculty, staff, and outside professionals regarding essential elements and reasonable accommodations will occur as needed.
  • The student requesting accommodations will be notified of the process for the provision of reasonable accommodations and all relevant activity will be documented in the student’s confidential file.
  • Since the responsibility for provision of accommodations often involves instructors and students, instructors can contact the ADA coordinator with concerns or questions about reasonable accommodations. Instructors are not expected to compromise or alter essential elements of their course or evaluation standards.
  • Students with disabilities are responsible for contacting the ADA coordinator if reasonable accommodations are not implemented in an effective or timely way. The ADA coordinator works with College personnel and students requesting ADA-related accommodations to resolve disagreements regarding recommended accommodations. When needed, the ADA Officer is available to assist with resolution of disagreement and to assure institutional compliance with the ADA.
  • Students with disabilities who believe they have been discriminated against on the basis of their disability may contact the ADA coordinator.
  • Each student bears the responsibility to submit requests for accommodations, auxiliary aids and/or services in a timely manner.

Temporary Disabilities

Services are available to students with temporary disabilities to provide access to campus academic programs and services. Assistance cannot be provided for tasks of a personal nature such as, but not limited to, assisting with health care issues. Students must submit appropriate documentation of their condition to the ADA coordinator.

Contacts for ADA-Related Services

Academic Services, Auxiliary Aids &Temporary Disabilities
Kristine Preziosi, ADA coordinator - (928) 350-2306
Mental Health Services - (928) 350-2306
Housing - (928) 350-1006