訪問和殘疾支持服務

美國殘疾人法案(ADA)的政策和程序

Prescott College 根據504康復法案第1973節和1990(ADA)美國殘疾人法案,我們致力於滿足殘疾入學或錄取學生的需求。 Prescott College 禁止並積極勸阻歧視殘疾人士。
學院致力於為任何能夠根據504或ADA記錄殘疾的學生提供服務。 學院政策要求在個性化和靈活的基礎上為殘疾學生提供合理的便利。 殘疾學生有責任請求可用的幫助。


學術標準和ADA住宿聲明

Prescott College 根據州和聯邦法律法規,包括1990的美國殘疾人法案和504康復法案的1973部分,我們有機構承諾為合格的殘疾學生提供平等的教育機會和機會。 根據ADA,申請ADA住宿的學生必須能夠執行“該計劃的基本學術和技術標準”; 提供ADA住宿不得從根本上改變課程或損害課程或課程的基本要素,也不得削弱課程的學術標准或完整性。 住宿是通過消除或減少與殘疾有關的障礙來完成課程要求的另一種方式; 住宿“公平競爭”,他們沒有提供不公平的優勢。
殘障人士文件以及對合理住宿的擁護都通過諮詢和學習共同體中的學習專家來處理。 提供的合理住宿基於殘障的性質和學術環境。 Prescott College 促進學術和個人成長,終身學習,學術誠信的發展,以及平等地獲得學生的所有課程,服務,活動和課程。


殘疾學生的住宿程序

  • 需要住宿才能進入大學課程,計劃,服務,活動和設施的殘疾學生必須及時向適當的人員提供殘疾文件。
  • 與殘疾有關的文件保密,並在有限和需要知道的基礎上與學院人員共享。
  • 根據提交的殘疾文件,ADA協調員將確定學生是否有資格獲得合理的住宿。
  • 如果學生有資格獲得合理便利,將探討殘疾與學術環境之間的相互作用,以確定可能的合理便利。 根據需要,將與教職員工和外部專業人員就基本要素和合理便利進行磋商。
  • 請求住宿的學生將被告知提供合理便利的過程,所有相關活動將記錄在學生的保密文件中。
  • 由於提供住宿的責任通常涉及教師和學生,教師可以與ADA協調員聯繫,提出有關合理便利的問題或疑問。 預計教師不會妥協或改變其課程或評估標準的基本要素。
  • 如果沒有有效或及時的合理安排,殘疾學生有責任聯繫ADA協調員。 ADA協調員與學院人員和學生一起請求與ADA相關的住宿,以解決有關推薦住宿的分歧。 在需要時,ADA官員可以協助解決分歧並確保機構遵守ADA。
  • 認為自己因殘疾而受到歧視的殘疾學生可以聯繫ADA協調員。
  • 每個學生都有責任及時提交住宿,輔助設施和/或服務請求。

臨時殘疾

臨時殘疾學生可以獲得服務,以提供校園學術課程和服務。 不能為個人性質的任務提供幫助,例如但不限於協助醫療保健問題。 學生必須向ADA協調員提交有關其病情的適當文件。


ADA聯繫方式 

有關ADA設施和資源的問題和疑慮,可以直接解決:

Mari Longpre
ADA協調員和學習專家

P:(928)350-2259

電子郵件:Accommodations@prescott.edu

克里斯蒂娜法布里
諮詢與學術成就副院長

P:(928)350-2246

電子郵件:christina.fabrey@prescott.edu

Access and Disability Support Services

Policies and Procedures for the Americans with Disability Act (ADA)

Prescott College is committed to providing for the needs of enrolled or admitted students who have disabilities under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA). Prescott College prohibits and actively discourages discrimination against individuals with disabilities.
The College is committed to make services available for any student who can document a disability under Section 504 or the ADA. College policy calls for reasonable accommodations to be made for students with disabilities on an individualized and flexible basis. It is the responsibility of students with disabilities to request available assistance.

Academic Standards and ADA Accommodation Statement

Prescott College has an institutional commitment to provide equal educational opportunities and access for qualified students with disabilities in accordance with state and federal laws and regulations, including the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Under the ADA, students requesting ADA accommodations must be able to perform the “essential academic and technical standards of the program”; providing ADA accommodations must not fundamentally alter the program or compromise the essential elements of a course or curriculum, nor does it weaken the academic standards or integrity of a course. Accommodations are an alternative way to accomplish the course requirements by eliminating or reducing disability-related barriers; accommodations “level the playing field”, they do not provide an unfair advantage.
Documentation of disabilities as well as advocacy for reasonable accommodations is handled through the Library and Learning Commons. Reasonable accommodations offered are based on the nature of the disability and the academic environment. Prescott College promotes the development of academic and personal growth, life-long learning, academic integrity, as well as equal access to all programs, services, activities and courses for students.

Kristine Preziosi (928-350-2306) is the lead for ADA accommodations and all questions and concerns should be directed to him as the ADA coordinator.

Accommodation Process for Students with Disabilities

  • Students with disabilities who require accommodations to access College courses, programs, services, activities, and facilities must provide documentation of disability to appropriate personnel in a timely manner.
  • Disability-related documents are kept confidential and shared with College personnel on a limited and need-to-know basis.
  • Based on the submitted disability documentation, the ADA coordinator will determine if the student is eligible for reasonable accommodations.
  • If the student is eligible for reasonable accommodations, the interaction between the disability and the academic environment will be explored to determine possible reasonable accommodations. Consultation with faculty, staff, and outside professionals regarding essential elements and reasonable accommodations will occur as needed.
  • The student requesting accommodations will be notified of the process for the provision of reasonable accommodations and all relevant activity will be documented in the student’s confidential file.
  • Since the responsibility for provision of accommodations often involves instructors and students, instructors can contact the ADA coordinator with concerns or questions about reasonable accommodations. Instructors are not expected to compromise or alter essential elements of their course or evaluation standards.
  • Students with disabilities are responsible for contacting the ADA coordinator if reasonable accommodations are not implemented in an effective or timely way. The ADA coordinator works with College personnel and students requesting ADA-related accommodations to resolve disagreements regarding recommended accommodations. When needed, the ADA Officer is available to assist with resolution of disagreement and to assure institutional compliance with the ADA.
  • Students with disabilities who believe they have been discriminated against on the basis of their disability may contact the ADA coordinator.
  • Each student bears the responsibility to submit requests for accommodations, auxiliary aids and/or services in a timely manner.

Temporary Disabilities

Services are available to students with temporary disabilities to provide access to campus academic programs and services. Assistance cannot be provided for tasks of a personal nature such as, but not limited to, assisting with health care issues. Students must submit appropriate documentation of their condition to the ADA coordinator.

Contacts for ADA-Related Services

Academic Services, Auxiliary Aids &Temporary Disabilities
Kristine Preziosi, ADA coordinator - (928) 350-2306
Mental Health Services - (928) 350-2306
Housing - (928) 350-1006