艾米班農

Amy Bannon和Neha Khurana

Amy Bannon(18')最初來自羅德島南金斯敦(South Kingstown),決定前往全國各地參加 Prescott College 因為學院強調體驗式教育。 她重視,“有機會與我的同齡人和教授完全沉浸在這個領域。”她最大的回憶 Prescott College 是她與之合作的“充滿愛心,充滿激情和迷人”的教授。 教授們負責激發艾米的熱情和學習動力。 她很感謝她在學術和職業生涯中的“門”。

艾米獲得了教育學學士學位,在探險教育和戶外活動管理方面充滿了重點。 她利用自己的學術和動手學習,在北亞利桑那州適應性體育協會開展了一項志願者計劃,以開展高級項目。

艾米最著名和最近雄心勃勃的戶外登山成就是Zoroaster Temple,一個600腳砂巖寺廟,需要從大峽谷地面開始的32英里遠足和攀岩體驗。 現任研究員Neha Khurana分享了艾米的經歷 Prescott College 學生。 艾米和尼哈是第一批攀登瑣羅亞斯德神廟的女性,並且在一次推進內完成了這一規模的目標,所有這些都在25小時內完成。 儘管他們在離開之前睡不著覺,但他們開始在2進行大規模的耐力測試:30 am,跑到科羅拉多河8英里處。 艾米記得,“在我頭燈的泡沫中,我看不到,但唯一的感覺,我剛剛進入的土地的浩瀚。”這是他們事業中最容易的部分。

該方法的下一部分是“崎嶇而陡峭”,他們攀爬並爬上岩層和小山的層,以到達瑣羅亞斯德寺的基地。 隨著太陽升起,峽谷的牆壁熠熠生輝,“一種壓倒性的感恩和驚奇的感覺落在了我們身上 - 這是我們正在經歷的難以想像的地方。”Amy和Neha雄心勃勃的事業成為全世界女性的主要靈感來源。 。 “峽谷教會我很多關於這段旅程的伙伴關係,耐心和堅持。”作為一名驕傲的校友,艾米鼓勵現在和將來的學生不要害怕,“做到這一切! 去學期課程。 快去吧!“在 Prescott College 機會是無窮無盡的,她希望她能夠重新做到這一點並做更多的事情。

Amy Bannon

Amy Bannon & Neha Khurana

Originally from South Kingstown, Rhode Island, Amy Bannon (18’) decided to make the trip across the country to attend at Prescott College because of the College’s emphasis on experiential education. She valued, “the opportunity to become completely immersed in the field with my peers and professors.” Her greatest memory of Prescott College was the “caring, passionate and fascinating” professors she got to work with. The professors were responsible for sparking Amy’s enthusiasm and drive for learning. She is grateful for the “doors they opened” in her academic and professional career.

Amy earned her Bachelor’s degree in Education enriched with emphases in Adventure Education and Outdoor Program Administration. She used her academic and hands-on learning to start a volunteer program at Northern Arizona Adaptive Sports Association for her senior project.

Amy’s most notable and recent ambitious outdoor climbing achievement was Zoroaster Temple, a 600 foot sandstone temple, that required a 32-mile hiking and climbing experience that started from the floor of the Grand Canyon. Amy’s experience was shared by Neha Khurana, a current fellow Prescott College student. Amy and Neha are the first women to climb Zoroaster Temple and complete an objective to this scale in a single push, all within 25 hours. Despite getting little sleep prior to their departure, they began this massive test of endurance at 2:30 am, running eight miles down to the Colorado River. Amy remembers, “Within the bubble of my headlamp, I could not see, but the only sense, the vastness of the land I had just entered.” This was the easiest part of their undertaking.

The next section of the approach was “rugged and steep” of which they climbed and scrambled over layers of rock and buttes to reach the base of Zoroaster Temple. As the sun was rising and the canyon walls were glowing, “an overwhelming feeling of gratitude and wonder fell over us - what an unimaginable place we are moving through.” Amy and Neha’s ambitious undertaking serves as a major inspiration to women all over the world. “The canyon taught me a lot about partnership, patience, and persistence on this journey.” As a proud alum, Amy encourages current and future students to not be afraid to, “DO IT ALL! GO on a semester course. GO GO GO!” At Prescott College opportunities are endless and she wishes she could do it all over again and do more of it.