ايمي بانون

إيمي بانون ونيها كورانا

في الأصل من جنوب كينغستاون ، رود آيلاند ، قررت إيمي بانون (18 ') القيام بالرحلة عبر البلاد لحضور Prescott College بسبب تركيز الكلية على التعليم التجريبي. لقدرت "فرصة الانغماس الكامل في هذا المجال مع زملائي وأساتذتي". Prescott College كانت أساتذة "الرعاية والعاطفة والرائعة" التي عملت معها. كان الأساتذة مسؤولين عن إثارة حماسة إيمي والدافع للتعلم. إنها ممتنة لـ "الأبواب التي فتحوها" في مسيرتها الأكاديمية والمهنية.

حصلت إيمي على درجة البكالوريوس في التعليم المخصب من التركيز في برنامج Adventure Adventure وإدارة البرامج الخارجية. واستخدمت تعليمها الأكاديمي والتدريب العملي لبدء برنامج تطوعي في جمعية Northern Adaptive Sports Association من أجل مشروعها الكبير.

كان أبرز إنجاز طموح للتسلق في الهواء الطلق في آيمي هو Zoroaster Temple ، وهو معبد 600 للحجر الرملي ، يتطلب تجربة المشي لمسافات طويلة وتسلق 32-ميل التي بدأت من أرضية جراند كانيون. تمت مشاركة تجربة إيمي مع نيها كورانا ، زميلة حالية Prescott College طالب علم. تعد إيمي ونيها أول نساء يتسلقن معبد زرادشت ويكملن هدفًا بهذا الحجم بضغطة واحدة ، كل ذلك خلال ساعات 25. على الرغم من حصولهم على القليل من النوم قبل مغادرتهم ، إلا أنهم بدأوا هذا الاختبار الهائل للتحمل في 2: 30 am ، على بعد ثمانية أميال إلى نهر كولورادو. تتذكر إيمي ، "داخل فقاعة كشافتي الأمامية ، لم أستطع رؤية ذلك ، لكن المعنى الوحيد هو اتساع الأرض التي دخلتها للتو". كان هذا هو الجزء الأسهل من تعهدهم.

كان الجزء التالي من المقاربة "الوعرة والمنحدرة" التي تسلقوا بها وتدفقوا عليها فوق طبقات من الصخور والبوتات للوصول إلى قاعدة معبد زرادشت. بينما كانت الشمس تشرق وكانت جدران الوادي تتوهج ، "شعور هائل بالامتنان والعجب سقط علينا - ما هو المكان الذي لا يمكن تصوره الذي نتحرك فيه." تعمل إيمي ونيها الطموحة كمصدر إلهام رئيسي للنساء في جميع أنحاء العالم . "علّمني الوادي الكثير عن الشراكة والصبر والمثابرة في هذه الرحلة." كشجاع فخور ، تشجع إيمي الطلاب الحاليين والمستقبليين على ألا يخافوا ، "افعلوها جميعًا!" الذهاب في دورة الفصل الدراسي. GO GO GO! "في Prescott College الفرص لا حصر لها وتتمنى لها أن تفعل ذلك مرة أخرى وأن تفعل المزيد منه.

Amy Bannon

Amy Bannon & Neha Khurana

Originally from South Kingstown, Rhode Island, Amy Bannon (18’) decided to make the trip across the country to attend at Prescott College because of the College’s emphasis on experiential education. She valued, “the opportunity to become completely immersed in the field with my peers and professors.” Her greatest memory of Prescott College was the “caring, passionate and fascinating” professors she got to work with. The professors were responsible for sparking Amy’s enthusiasm and drive for learning. She is grateful for the “doors they opened” in her academic and professional career.

Amy earned her Bachelor’s degree in Education enriched with emphases in Adventure Education and Outdoor Program Administration. She used her academic and hands-on learning to start a volunteer program at Northern Arizona Adaptive Sports Association for her senior project.

Amy’s most notable and recent ambitious outdoor climbing achievement was Zoroaster Temple, a 600 foot sandstone temple, that required a 32-mile hiking and climbing experience that started from the floor of the Grand Canyon. Amy’s experience was shared by Neha Khurana, a current fellow Prescott College student. Amy and Neha are the first women to climb Zoroaster Temple and complete an objective to this scale in a single push, all within 25 hours. Despite getting little sleep prior to their departure, they began this massive test of endurance at 2:30 am, running eight miles down to the Colorado River. Amy remembers, “Within the bubble of my headlamp, I could not see, but the only sense, the vastness of the land I had just entered.” This was the easiest part of their undertaking.

The next section of the approach was “rugged and steep” of which they climbed and scrambled over layers of rock and buttes to reach the base of Zoroaster Temple. As the sun was rising and the canyon walls were glowing, “an overwhelming feeling of gratitude and wonder fell over us - what an unimaginable place we are moving through.” Amy and Neha’s ambitious undertaking serves as a major inspiration to women all over the world. “The canyon taught me a lot about partnership, patience, and persistence on this journey.” As a proud alum, Amy encourages current and future students to not be afraid to, “DO IT ALL! GO on a semester course. GO GO GO!” At Prescott College opportunities are endless and she wishes she could do it all over again and do more of it.