藝術與文學(BFA)

美術學士(BFA)
簽名課程
藝術家和運動員編舞與表演
關於自然歷史的閱讀與寫作
電影與文學:地方感
詩歌工作坊
短褲:Flash散文中的冒險

藝術與文學藝術學士(BFA)為學生提供三種16課程能力選擇:創意寫作,視覺藝術和跨學科藝術與文學。 (跨學科藝術與文學能力專為希望強調2-3藝術學科相互關聯的藝術與文學學生而設計。

創意寫作

創意寫作能力專為具有良好寫作潛力的學生而設計,他們希望有機會深化他們的文學經驗並發展他們的技能(1)個人致富,(2)研究生院的準備,和/或(3)專業人士的準備寫作,編輯或教學的職業。 Prescott College 提供詩歌,創意非小說,回憶錄和地方寫作的研討會,以及美國,世界和跨學科文學課程。 在這個動手實踐的跨學科研究領域,學生與出版作家合作,磨練他們的創造性和批判性寫作技巧。 在創意寫作研討會上,學生可以創作原創詩歌和散文,除了學習提供和接受建設性批評外,他們還學會用反饋來改進他們的作品。 在文學課程中,學生探索經典和當代美國作品以及其他文化作品。 我們所有的寫作和文學課程都鼓勵學生成為細心的讀者和知情作家,能夠有效地分析和綜合材料,能夠欣賞多樣性,並能夠與更廣泛的國際社會進行對話。

視覺藝術

視覺藝術能力專為希望有機會加深視覺交流經驗並培養他們(1)個人致富(2)研究生院準備和/或(3)職業生涯準備的學生而設計。藝術,策展,教學或設計的製作。 Prescott College 提供各種繪畫和繪畫,攝影,雕塑和環境藝術課程。 我們提供一個環境,​​讓學生將想法和概念轉化為對象和視覺體驗。 通過旨在介紹視覺藝術對個人和社會的重要性,影響和影響的課程,學生可以在各種媒體上接受實踐教學,同時在當代視覺文化中對他們的藝術實踐進行批判性理解。 我們所有的課程都通過創作過程的共同經驗培養了一種社區感。 我們的工作室課程鼓勵學生改進創造性思維,並將所學知識和技能應用於圖像和物體的製作以及跨學科和實驗工作。

跨學科的藝術與文學

跨學科藝術與文學能力專為希望強調藝術學科相互關聯的藝術與文學學生而設計。 這種能力非常適合吸引許多不同藝術學科的文藝復興學生 - 創意寫作,視覺藝術和表演。 這種跨學科的集中真正是我們美學方法的核心。 我們相信所有的藝術相互促進和相互補充,許多類型和媒體的研究激發了作為藝術家,作家和自由受過教育的學生的發展。

  • 學生將識別和探索藝術和人文學科對人類經歷的貢獻,包括歷史,社會,環境,宗教或文化背景。
  • 學習者將應用他們所選學科的語言和技巧。
  • 學習者將製作原創藝術作品或對與觀眾有效溝通的藝術或文學的批判性分析。
  • 藝術管理員
  • 藝術評論家
  • 藝術理論家
  • 編舞
  • 舞蹈總監
  • 舞蹈教育家
  • 舞蹈表演藝術家
  • 舞蹈工作室主任
  • 舞蹈治療師
  • 小學美術老師
  • 研究所
  • 健康與健身專業人士
  • 高中美術老師
  • 記者
  • 博物館館長
  • 專業作家
  • 旅行作家

  • 學術焦點論文
  • 完成申請
  • 官方成績單
  • 推薦信

對藝術和文學以及藝術和人文科學感興趣的學生將參加針對以下能力的課程:學科實踐,文學或藝術史以及跨學科研究。 儘管課程組合無窮無盡,但學生可以通過以下課程列表獲得藝術與文學學位。

下司-起點

開放創意人:一種實用方法
形式與功能:雕塑理論與實踐
衍生圖像:抽象繪畫
環境攝影策略
短褲:Flash散文中的冒險
創意非小說
詩歌工作坊
美國馬賽克

上級部門-深入掌握

正義藝術:藝術與社會正義
畫廊管理
傳記
電影與文學:慾望元素
電影與社會變革
創作實踐與表演
紀錄片攝影
高級項目

Prescott College Arts & Letters Program

Arts & Letters (BFA)

Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA)
Signature Courses
Artist and Athlete Choreography & Performance
Reading & Writing about Natural History
Film & Literature: Sense of Place
Poetry Workshop
Short Shorts: Adventures in Flash Prose

The Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) in Arts & Letters offers students three 16-course competence options: Creative Writing, Visual Arts, and Interdisciplinary Arts & Letters. (The Interdisciplinary Arts & Letters competence is designed for Arts & Letters students who want to emphasize the interrelatedness of 2-3 artistic disciplines.

 

Creative Writing

The Creative Writing competence is designed for students with excellent writing potential who want the opportunity to deepen their literary experience and develop their skills for (1) personal enrichment, (2) preparation for graduate school, and/or (3) preparation for a professional career in writing, editing, or teaching. Prescott College offers workshops in poetry, creative nonfiction, memoir, and place-based writing as well as courses in American, World, and Cross-disciplinary literature. In this hands-on, interdisciplinary area of study, students work with published writers to hone their creative and critical writing skills. In creative writing workshops, students generate original poetry and prose, and in addition to learning to give and receive constructive criticism, they learn to use feedback to polish their work. In literature courses, students explore both classic and contemporary American works as well as works from other cultures. All of our writing and literature courses encourage students to become careful readers and informed writers, able to effectively analyze and synthesize material, able to appreciate diversity, and able to engage in discourse with the wider world community. 

 

Visual Arts

The Visual Arts competence is designed for students who want the opportunity to deepen their experience with visual communication and develop their skills for (1) personal enrichment, (2) preparation for graduate school, and/or (3) preparation for a professional career in the production of art, curation, teaching, or design. Prescott College offers a variety of courses in drawing and painting, photography, sculpture and environmental art. We provide an environment within which students transform ideas and concepts into objects and visual experiences. Through a curriculum designed to introduce the importance, impact and influence of visual arts on the individual and society, students receive hands-on instruction in a variety of media, while developing a critical understanding of their art practice within contemporary visual culture. All of our courses cultivate a sense of community through the common experience of the creative process. Our studio courses encourage students to refine creative thought and apply acquired knowledge and skill to the making of images and objects as well as interdisciplinary and experimental works.

 

Interdisciplinary Arts & Letters

The Interdisciplinary Arts & Letters competence is designed for Arts & Letters students who want to emphasize the interrelatedness of the artistic disciplines. This competence is ideal for renaissance students drawn to many different artistic disciplines—creative writing, visual arts, and performance. This interdisciplinary concentration is really at the heart of our approach to aesthetics. We believe that all the arts inform and complement one another, and that the study of many genres and media vitalizes development as an artist, writer, and liberally educated student.
 

 

  • Students will identify and explore the contribution of the arts and humanities to the human experience including historical, social, environmental, religious, or cultural contexts.
  • Learners will apply the language and techniques of their chosen disciplines.
  • Learners will produce original artwork or a critical analysis of art or literature that communicates effectively with an audience.
  • Art Administrator
  • Art Critic
  • Art Theorist
  • Choreographer
  • Dance Director
  • Dance Educator
  • Dance Performing Artist
  • Dance Studio Director
  • Dance Therapist
  • Elementary Art Teacher
  • Graduate School
  • Health & Fitness Professional
  • High School Art Teacher
  • Journalist
  • Museum Curator
  • Professional Writer
  • Travel Writer  

 

  • Academic focus essay
  • Completed Application
  • Official transcripts
  • Letter of Recommendation

 

Students interested in Arts and letters and Arts and Humanities engage in classes addressing the following competencies: disciplinary practice, literature or art history, and interdisciplinary study. Though course combinations are endless, students could earn a degree in Arts and Letters with the following list of classes.  

Lower division - the starting points

Opening the Creative Person: An Applied Approach
Form and Function: Theory and Practice in Sculpture
The Derivative Image: Abstract Painting
Photographic Tactics for the Environment
Short Shorts: Adventures in Flash Prose
Creative Nonfiction
Poetry Workshop
American Mosaic

Upper Division - Developing a deeper mastery

Just Art: Art and Social Justice
Gallery Management 
Memoir
Film & Literature: Elements of Desire
Cinema and Social Change
Creative Practice and Performance
Documentary Photography
The Senior Project

Your Faculty

Jonathan Best

Instruction|Adjunct Faculty

jonathan.best@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/laird.christensen_1918285963.jpeg

Laird Christensen

Instruction|Faculty / Director, MS Resilient and Sustainable Communities

laird.christensen@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/Array_576772069.jpeg

Patrisse Cullors

Instruction|Associate Faculty / Coordinator, MFA Social and Environmental Ar

patrisse.cullors@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/egreenblum_406.jpg

Ellen Greenblum

Instruction|Faculty / Director, BA/BFA in Arts and Humanities

egreenblum@prescott.edu

9283503209

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/perrin.kerns_1079413310.jpeg

Perrin Kerns

Instruction|Associate Faculty

perrin.kerns@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/meg.roland_235469414.jpeg

Meg Roland

Instruction|Associate Faculty

meg.roland@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/carl.sweets_159862969.jpeg

Carl Sweets

Instruction|Associate Faculty

carl.sweets@prescott.edu