فنون وحروف

بكالوريوس في الفنون الجميلة (منتدى بواو الاسيوى)
دورات التوقيع
الفنان والرياضي الكوريغرافيا والأداء
القراءة والكتابة عن التاريخ الطبيعي
الفيلم والأدب: الإحساس بالمكان
ورشة الشعر
شورت قصير: مغامرات في فلاش النثر

يقدم بكالوريوس الفنون الجميلة (BFA) في الآداب والآداب للطلاب ثلاثة خيارات لكفاءة دورة 16: الكتابة الإبداعية والفنون البصرية والفنون والحروف متعددة التخصصات. (تم تصميم اختصاص الفنون والآداب متعدد التخصصات لطلاب الآداب والآداب الذين يرغبون في التأكيد على الترابط بين التخصصات الفنية 2-3.

الكتابة الإبداعية

تم تصميم كفاءة الكتابة الإبداعية للطلاب الذين لديهم إمكانات كتابية ممتازة والذين يرغبون في فرصة لتعميق تجربتهم الأدبية وتطوير مهاراتهم في الإثراء الشخصي (1) ، (2) التحضير لمدرسة الدراسات العليا ، و / أو (3) الإعداد لمحترف مهنة في الكتابة أو التحرير أو التدريس. Prescott College يقدم ورش عمل في الشعر ، والقصص الإبداعية ، والمذكرات ، والكتابة القائمة على المكان وكذلك دورات في الأدب الأمريكي والعالمي والمتعدد التخصصات. في هذا المجال العملي متعدد التخصصات من الدراسة ، يعمل الطلاب مع الكتاب المنشورين لصقل مهارات الكتابة الإبداعية والحرجة. في ورش الكتابة الإبداعية ، يقوم الطلاب بتوليد شعر ونثر أصليين ، بالإضافة إلى تعلم كيفية إعطاء وتلقي النقد البناء ، يتعلمون استخدام الملاحظات لتلميع عملهم. في دورات الأدب ، يستكشف الطلاب كلا من الأعمال الأمريكية الكلاسيكية والمعاصرة بالإضافة إلى أعمال من ثقافات أخرى. تشجع جميع دوراتنا في الكتابة والأدب الطلاب على أن يصبحوا قراءًا دقيقين وكتابًا مطلعين ، وأن يكونوا قادرين على تحليل المواد وتوليفها بفعالية ، وقادرة على تقدير التنوع ، والقدرة على المشاركة في الخطاب مع المجتمع العالمي الأوسع.

الفنون البصرية

تم تصميم كفاءة الفنون البصرية للطلاب الذين يرغبون في فرصة لتعميق تجربتهم مع التواصل المرئي وتطوير مهاراتهم في الإثراء الشخصي (1) ، (2) التحضير لمدرسة الدراسات العليا ، و / أو (3) الإعداد لمهنة مهنية في إنتاج الفن ، كرأيشن ، التدريس ، أو التصميم. Prescott College يقدم مجموعة متنوعة من الدورات في الرسم والتصوير والتصوير والنحت والفن البيئي. نحن نوفر بيئة يقوم الطلاب من خلالها بتحويل الأفكار والمفاهيم إلى كائنات وخبرات بصرية. من خلال المناهج الدراسية المصممة لتقديم أهمية وتأثير وتأثير الفنون البصرية على الفرد والمجتمع ، يتلقى الطلاب تدريبات عملية في مجموعة متنوعة من الوسائط ، مع تطوير فهم نقدي لممارساتهم الفنية ضمن الثقافة البصرية المعاصرة. جميع دوراتنا تنمي شعور المجتمع من خلال التجربة المشتركة للعملية الإبداعية. تشجع دورات الاستوديو الخاصة بنا الطلاب على تحسين التفكير الإبداعي وتطبيق المعرفة والمهارات المكتسبة في صنع الصور والأشياء وكذلك الأعمال متعددة التخصصات والتجريبية.

فنون ومتاحف متعددة التخصصات

تم تصميم اختصاص الفنون والآداب متعدد التخصصات لطلاب الآداب والآداب الذين يرغبون في التأكيد على الترابط بين التخصصات الفنية. هذه الكفاءة مثالية لطلاب النهضة الذين يجذبهم العديد من التخصصات الفنية المختلفة - الكتابة الإبداعية والفنون البصرية والأداء. هذا التركيز متعدد التخصصات هو حقا في صميم نهجنا في علم الجمال. نحن نؤمن بأن جميع الفنون تُعلم وتُكمل بعضها البعض ، وأن دراسة العديد من الأنواع ووسائل الإعلام تحفز التنمية كفنان وكاتب وطالب متعلم.

  • سيقوم الطلاب بتحديد واستكشاف مساهمة الفنون والعلوم الإنسانية في التجربة الإنسانية بما في ذلك السياقات التاريخية أو الاجتماعية أو البيئية أو الدينية أو الثقافية.
  • سيقوم المتعلمون بتطبيق لغة وتقنيات تخصصاتهم المختارة.
  • سيقوم المتعلمون بإنتاج أعمال فنية أصلية أو تحليل نقدي للفن أو الأدب الذي يتصل بفعالية مع الجمهور.
  • مدير الفن
  • الناقد الفن
  • نظرية الفن
  • مدير الرقص
  • مدير الرقص
  • مربي الرقص
  • فنان أداء الرقص
  • مدير استوديو الرقص
  • معالج الرقص
  • مدرس فنون ابتدائي
  • كلية الدراسات العليا
  • الصحة واللياقة المهنية
  • مدرس فنون ثانوية
  • صحافي
  • مدير المتحف
  • الكاتب المحترف
  • كاتب السفر

  • مقال التركيز الأكاديمي
  • إكمال الطلب
  • المستندات الرسمية
  • خطاب توصية

يشارك الطلاب المهتمين بالفنون والخطابات والفنون والعلوم الإنسانية في فصول تتناول الكفاءات التالية: الممارسة التأديبية ، الأدب أو تاريخ الفن ، والدراسة متعددة التخصصات. على الرغم من أن مجموعات المقررات الدراسية لا حصر لها ، إلا أنه يمكن للطلاب الحصول على شهادة في الآداب والحروف من خلال قائمة الفصول التالية.

انخفاض القسم - نقاط البداية

فتح الشخص المبدع: منهج تطبيقي
الشكل والوظيفة: النظرية والتطبيق في النحت
الصورة المشتقة: الرسم التجريدي
تكتيكات التصوير الفوتوغرافي للبيئة
شورت قصير: مغامرات في فلاش النثر
قصصي الإبداعي
ورشة الشعر
الفسيفساء الأمريكية

الشعبة العليا - تطوير إتقان أعمق

فقط الفن: الفن والعدالة الاجتماعية
إدارة المعرض
مذكرات
الفيلم والأدب: عناصر من الرغبة
السينما والتغيير الاجتماعي
الممارسة الإبداعية والأداء
التصوير الوثائقي
مشروع كبار

كلية الخاص بك
http://my-archive.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/laird.christensen_1594120846.jpeg

ليرد كريستنسن

تعليمات|عضو هيئة تدريس / مدير ، المجتمعات المرنة والمستدامة

laird.christensen@prescott.edu

http://my-archive.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/Array_576772069.jpeg

باتريس كولورز

تعليمات|الكلية / المنسق المساعد ، وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية والبيئية Ar

patrisse.cullors@prescott.edu

http://my-archive.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/mark.dailey_1295952998.jpeg

مارك دايلي

تعليمات|هيئة التدريس

mark.dailey@prescott.edu

http://my-archive.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/perrin.kerns_1079413310.jpeg

بيرين كيرنس

تعليمات|كلية مشارك

perrin.kerns@prescott.edu

http://my-archive.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/rlewis_416.jpg

ريتش لويس

تعليمات|هيئة التدريس

rlewis@prescott.edu

9283501301

http://my-archive.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/meg.roland_235469414.jpeg

ميج رولاند

تعليمات|كلية مشارك

meg.roland@prescott.edu

http://my-archive.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/carl.sweets_159862969.jpeg

حلويات كارل

تعليمات|كلية مشارك

carl.sweets@prescott.edu

Prescott College Arts & Letters Program

Arts & Letters (BFA)

Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA)
Signature Courses
Artist and Athlete Choreography & Performance
Reading & Writing about Natural History
Film & Literature: Sense of Place
Poetry Workshop
Short Shorts: Adventures in Flash Prose

The Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) in Arts & Letters offers students three 16-course competence options: Creative Writing, Visual Arts, and Interdisciplinary Arts & Letters. (The Interdisciplinary Arts & Letters competence is designed for Arts & Letters students who want to emphasize the interrelatedness of 2-3 artistic disciplines.

 

Creative Writing

The Creative Writing competence is designed for students with excellent writing potential who want the opportunity to deepen their literary experience and develop their skills for (1) personal enrichment, (2) preparation for graduate school, and/or (3) preparation for a professional career in writing, editing, or teaching. Prescott College offers workshops in poetry, creative nonfiction, memoir, and place-based writing as well as courses in American, World, and Cross-disciplinary literature. In this hands-on, interdisciplinary area of study, students work with published writers to hone their creative and critical writing skills. In creative writing workshops, students generate original poetry and prose, and in addition to learning to give and receive constructive criticism, they learn to use feedback to polish their work. In literature courses, students explore both classic and contemporary American works as well as works from other cultures. All of our writing and literature courses encourage students to become careful readers and informed writers, able to effectively analyze and synthesize material, able to appreciate diversity, and able to engage in discourse with the wider world community. 

 

Visual Arts

The Visual Arts competence is designed for students who want the opportunity to deepen their experience with visual communication and develop their skills for (1) personal enrichment, (2) preparation for graduate school, and/or (3) preparation for a professional career in the production of art, curation, teaching, or design. Prescott College offers a variety of courses in drawing and painting, photography, sculpture and environmental art. We provide an environment within which students transform ideas and concepts into objects and visual experiences. Through a curriculum designed to introduce the importance, impact and influence of visual arts on the individual and society, students receive hands-on instruction in a variety of media, while developing a critical understanding of their art practice within contemporary visual culture. All of our courses cultivate a sense of community through the common experience of the creative process. Our studio courses encourage students to refine creative thought and apply acquired knowledge and skill to the making of images and objects as well as interdisciplinary and experimental works.

 

Interdisciplinary Arts & Letters

The Interdisciplinary Arts & Letters competence is designed for Arts & Letters students who want to emphasize the interrelatedness of the artistic disciplines. This competence is ideal for renaissance students drawn to many different artistic disciplines—creative writing, visual arts, and performance. This interdisciplinary concentration is really at the heart of our approach to aesthetics. We believe that all the arts inform and complement one another, and that the study of many genres and media vitalizes development as an artist, writer, and liberally educated student.
 

 

  • Students will identify and explore the contribution of the arts and humanities to the human experience including historical, social, environmental, religious, or cultural contexts.
  • Learners will apply the language and techniques of their chosen disciplines.
  • Learners will produce original artwork or a critical analysis of art or literature that communicates effectively with an audience.
  • Art Administrator
  • Art Critic
  • Art Theorist
  • Choreographer
  • Dance Director
  • Dance Educator
  • Dance Performing Artist
  • Dance Studio Director
  • Dance Therapist
  • Elementary Art Teacher
  • Graduate School
  • Health & Fitness Professional
  • High School Art Teacher
  • Journalist
  • Museum Curator
  • Professional Writer
  • Travel Writer  

 

  • Academic focus essay
  • Completed Application
  • Official transcripts
  • Letter of Recommendation

 

Students interested in Arts and letters and Arts and Humanities engage in classes addressing the following competencies: disciplinary practice, literature or art history, and interdisciplinary study. Though course combinations are endless, students could earn a degree in Arts and Letters with the following list of classes.  

Lower division - the starting points

Opening the Creative Person: An Applied Approach
Form and Function: Theory and Practice in Sculpture
The Derivative Image: Abstract Painting
Photographic Tactics for the Environment
Short Shorts: Adventures in Flash Prose
Creative Nonfiction
Poetry Workshop
American Mosaic

Upper Division - Developing a deeper mastery

Just Art: Art and Social Justice
Gallery Management 
Memoir
Film & Literature: Elements of Desire
Cinema and Social Change
Creative Practice and Performance
Documentary Photography
The Senior Project

Your Faculty

Jonathan Best

Instruction|Adjunct Faculty

jonathan.best@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/laird.christensen_1918285963.jpeg

Laird Christensen

Instruction|Faculty / Director, MS Resilient and Sustainable Communities

laird.christensen@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/Array_576772069.jpeg

Patrisse Cullors

Instruction|Associate Faculty / Coordinator, MFA Social and Environmental Ar

patrisse.cullors@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/egreenblum_406.jpg

Ellen Greenblum

Instruction|Faculty / Director, BA/BFA in Arts and Humanities

egreenblum@prescott.edu

9283503209

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/perrin.kerns_1079413310.jpeg

Perrin Kerns

Instruction|Associate Faculty

perrin.kerns@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/meg.roland_235469414.jpeg

Meg Roland

Instruction|Associate Faculty

meg.roland@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/carl.sweets_159862969.jpeg

Carl Sweets

Instruction|Associate Faculty

carl.sweets@prescott.edu