الدراسات البيئية والاستدامة

شهادة بكالوريوس العلوم (بكالوريوس)
دورات التوقيع
سلوك الحيوان بيولوجيا الحيوان
علم النبات حساب التفاضل والتكامل: النظرية والتطبيق
طرق علم أحياء الحفظ في بيئة النبات
الطرق الميدانية في الجيولوجيا
أسس الكيمياء العامة
علم المعلومات الجغرافية
مقدمة في جيولوجيا أريزونا الجيومورفولوجيا
موضوعات في التاريخ الطبيعي والبيئة في الجنوب الغربي
المرحلة الأولى تطور الماء العضوي في الغرب

درجة بكالوريوس العلوم في الدراسات البيئية للطلاب الذين يسعون للحصول على درجات صارمة ومتعددة. استكشاف تأديبي للأنظمة والعمليات الطبيعية للأرض ودور البشر الذين يعتمدون على هذه الأنظمة والعمليات ويؤثرون عليها. مع أساس قوي في العلوم الطبيعية وفهم واسع للآثار السياسية للعلوم البيئية ، سيتم إعداد الطلاب الحاصلين على هذه الدرجة جيدًا للدراسات العليا في هذا المجال وللعمل مع كل من الوكالات العامة والشركات الخاصة التي تعمل من أجل مستقبل أكثر استدامة . سيصبح الطلاب على اطلاع جيد بالتاريخ الطبيعي والبيئة ، كسياق لتضمين دراستهم العلمية. سينظر الطلاب أيضًا في الأخلاقيات والسياسة حيث يبنون تطبيقات قوية وذات مغزى للمسعى العلمي. التوجه كل خريف و ربيع جديد Prescott College يجد الطلاب أنفسهم في "الفصول الدراسية" ، وهي عبارة عن تضاريس وبيئات متنوّعة ، وأحيانًا خام ، ومتنوعة دائمًا في الجنوب الغربي. يتعرف طلاب بريسكوت الجدد على البيئة الطبيعية في الجنوب الغربي ، ويتعرفوا على أنفسهم وعن بعضهم البعض ، وتجربة الفلسفات التعليمية Prescott College أثناء التوجيه ، وبالتالي البدء في رحلة تطوير العلاقات مع المنزل الجديد ، والمجتمع ، والمهنية الأكاديمية. بالنسبة لمعظم الطلاب ، سيعني التوجيه رحلة مدتها ثلاثة أسابيع إلى الصحراء والجبال والوادي (تُعرف أيضًا باسم Wilderness Orientation). سيقوم الطلاب ، بوصفهم مجتمعًا صغيرًا من المتعلمين المنخرطين ، بجولة على الظهر في مواقع متنوعة بيئيًا في أريزونا. دراسة - توصيل - تزايد. سوف يشارك الطلاب الآخرون في اتجاه معسكر الأساس ، أو التوجيه المجتمعي. اتبع هذا الرابط للحصول على معلومات مفصلة عن خيارات التوجيه: تفاصيل التوجيه تجربة السنة الأولى في الفصل الدراسي الأول ، سوف يلتحق المبتدئون في الدورات التدريبية التي تعالج مخاوف وتحديات كونك طالبًا جامعيًا. سيختار طلاب السنة الأولى من بين مجموعة من دورات الفصل الدراسي الغامرة - مثل المياه في الغرب ، والفن والإيكولوجيا ، وأسس القيادة ، ومقدمة في علم النفس واليوغا - والتي تستمر في بناء المجتمع ، وإقامة علاقات مع مستشاري الكلية ، وتطوير الاستفسار الأكاديمي . في الفصل الدراسي الأول في Prescott College، نقل الطلاب يشاركون في أزمات القرن 21st: أساليب البحث ونظرياته. سيتم تعريف الطلاب من التخصصات البيئية والاجتماعية والفنون والعلوم الإنسانية على النهج النظرية والبحثية التي تعزز طرق دمج أسئلتهم من خلال مناقشات الفصل والبحث الشخصي. سيتم منح الطلاب المسجلين في هذه الدورة الدعم الفردي في إنشاء خطة تنظيم الدورات الدراسية التي يقومون بنقلها إلى مسار للتخرج في المجالات التي يختارونها. خطة الدرجات خلال الفصل الدراسي الأول من السنة الإعدادية ، يصمم الطلاب خطة الدرجات ، بمساعدة مستشار هيئة التدريس ، الذي يرسم الخريطة الأكاديمية لرحلتهم. ويشمل نظرة عامة على الدورات والاعتمادات المكتسبة. وصف موجز لمجالات الكفاءة ، واتساع ، ومجالات الفنون الليبرالية ؛ قوائم الدورات المكتملة وتلك التي ستستكمل ؛ خطة المشروع المبدئية ووصفه ؛ وأوسمة أو خبرة إضافية تسهم في الكفاءة أو الاتساع. خطة الدرجات هي وثيقة حية تستمر في التطور خلال الفصول الثلاثة الأخيرة للطالب. مشروع التخرج Prescott College يطلب من كل طالب ، وليس فقط طلاب "مع مرتبة الشرف" ، تصميم وتنفيذ مشروع كبير طموح. يعمل هذا المشروع كدليل على الكفاءة ويتوج لتجربة البكالوريوس. قد يأخذ شكل مشروع بحث طموح ، أو مجموعة من الكتابة الإبداعية الأصلية ، أو خطة المناهج الدراسية وتنفيذها ، أو معرضًا فنيًا للاستوديو ، أو عرضًا ، أو دراسة حالة أو حقل ، أو فترة تدريب صعبة. طريقة أخرى للتفكير في مشروع كبار هي كجسر بين مهنة الطالب الجامعية والعمل بعد التخرج. يقف Senior Project كبطاقة اتصال تعلن عن خريجي المدارس وأرباب العمل المحتملين والعالم ، "انظر ، هذا ما أنا قادر على فعله".

  • عالم أحياء
  • أخصائي بيانات الحفظ
  • محامي بيئي / محام
  • كلية الدراسات العليا
  • مدرس علوم ثانوية
  • الأحياء البحرية
  • أخصائي الموارد الطبيعية

مواد التطبيق

كن سباقا! راجع قائمة مواد التطبيق الإضافية المطلوبة قبل بدء عملية التقديم. يجب تقديم جميع مواد الطلب من خلال بوابة التقديم عبر الإنترنت. يجب عليك إرسال النصوص والمواد الرسمية إلى البريد Prescott College، مكتب القبول 220 غروف أفينيو ، بريسكوت ، أريزونا ، 86301

  1. السيرة الذاتية للمقال: قدم مقالًا عن سيرتين أو أربع صفحات يعكس سيرتك الذاتية في الماضي وأهدافك التعليمية
  2. خطاب توصية واحد: يجب أن يكون لدى الطلاب الجدد لأول مرة خطاب مكتوب من قبل المعلم أو المستشار ؛ قد يكون لدى الطلاب رسالة نقل من أي شخص باستثناء العائلة أو شخص مهم آخر. يرجى ملاحظة أنه سيكون لديك فرصة لجمع خطابات التوصية عن طريق البريد الإلكتروني من خلال التطبيق عبر الإنترنت.
  3. نتائج الاختبارات: Prescott College لا يتطلب من المتقدمين تقديم درجات SAT أو ACT للقبول. المتقدمون مدعوون لتقديم علاماتهم كجزء من طلباتهم. كود SAT هو 0484 ورمز ACT هو 5022.
  4. المستندات الرسمية يمكن تقديمها إلكترونيًا من قبل المؤسسة المصدرة عبر شهادة جامعية أو عن طريق البريد على:

مكتب القبول
Prescott College
202 غروف أفينيو
بريسكوت ، أريزونا 86301

يجب أن تصل جميع النصوص المقدمة عن طريق البريد إلى مظروف مختوم رسمي من المؤسسة المصدرة.

يرجى الملاحظة: قد يتم تقديم نصوص غير رسمية إلى لجنة القبول لبدء تقييم أولي لطلب ما. سوف تكون هناك حاجة النصوص الرسمية لتقديم عرض رسمي للقبول.

هيا بنا نذهب! نحن هنا لدعمكم خلال عملية القبول. إذا كانت لديك أي أسئلة ، فيرجى الاتصال بنا على 1-877-350-2100 أو admissions@prescott.edu للحصول على المساعدة.

كليتنا
http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/mark.dailey_1295952998.jpeg

مارك دايلي

تعليمات|هيئة التدريس

mark.dailey@prescott.edu

Environmental Studies & Sustainability

Bachelor of Science Degree (BS)
Signature Courses
Animal Behavior Animal Biology
Botany Calculus: Theory & Practice
Conservation Biology Field Methods for Plant Ecology
Field Methods in Geology
Foundations of General Chemistry
Geographic Information Science
Introduction to Geology of Arizona Geomorphology
Topics in Natural History & Ecology of the Southwest
Phase I Organic Evolution Water in the West

The Bachelor of Science Degree in Environmental Studies is for students seeking rigorous multi­ disciplinary exploration of the natural systems and processes of the Earth and the role of humans who both depend on and influence these systems and processes. With a strong foundation in the natural sciences and a broad understanding of the policy implications of environmental science, students with this degree will be well prepared for graduate study in this field and for employment with both public agencies and private businesses working toward a more sustainable future. Students will become well informed about natural history and ecology, as a context in which to embed their scientific study. Students will also consider ethics and policy as they build strong, meaningful applications for scientific endeavor. Orientation Each fall and spring, new Prescott College students find themselves in "the classroom," the breathtaking, sometimes raw, always diverse terrains and environments of the Southwest. New Prescott students are introduced to the natural environment of the Southwest, learn about themselves and each other, and experience the educational philosophies of Prescott College during Orientation, thus beginning the journey of developing relationships with their new home, community, and academic career. For most students, Orientation will mean a three-week Desert, Mountain and Canyon Expedition (aka Wilderness Orientation). Students, as a small community of engaged learners, will be backpacking throughout ecologically diverse locations in Arizona. Studying - Connecting - Growing. Other students will participate in a Base Camp Orientation, or Community-Based Orientation. Follow this link for detailed information on these Orientation options: Orientation Details First Year Experience In their first semester, freshmen will enroll in courses addressing the concerns and challenges of being a college student. First Year Students will choose from an array of immersive semester courses - like Water in the West, Art and Ecology, Foundations of Leadership, and Introduction to Psychology and Yoga - which continue to build community, forge relationships with faculty advisors, and develop academic inquiry. In their first semester at Prescott College, transfer students participate in Crises of the 21st Century: Research Methods & Theories. Students from environmental and social disciplines, the arts, and humanities will be introduced to theoretical and research approaches that foster ways of integrating their questions through class discussions and personal research. Students enrolled in this course will be given individual support in creating a degree plan organizing courses they are transferring with into a pathway for graduation in their chosen fields. Degree Plan During the first semester of their junior year, students create a degree plan, with the assistance of their faculty adviser, which sketches the academic map of their journey. It includes an overview of courses and credits earned; brief descriptions of competence, breadth, and liberal arts areas; lists of courses completed and those to be completed; a tentative Senior Project plan and description; and additional honors or experience that contribute to competence or breadth. The Degree Plan is a living document that continues to evolve throughout the student's final three terms. Senior Project Prescott College requires every student, not just designated "honors" students, to design and carry out an ambitious Senior Project. This Project functions as both a demonstration of competence and a culmination of the undergraduate experience. It may take the form of an ambitious research project, a collection of original creative writing, a curriculum plan and implementation, a studio art exhibition, a performance, a case or field study, or a challenging internship. Another way of thinking about the Senior Project is as a bridge between a student's undergraduate career and work after graduation. The Senior Project stands as a calling card that proclaims to graduate schools, prospective employers, and the world, "Look, this is what I'm capable of doing."

 

  • Biologist
  • Conservation Data Specialist
  • Ecologist|Environmental Attorney/Lawyer
  • Graduate School
  • High School Science Teacher
  • Marine Biologist
  • Natural Resource Specialist

Application Materials 

Be proactive! Review our list of required supplemental application materials before starting your application process. All application materials should be submitted through the online application portal. You must mail official transcripts and materials to Prescott College, Office of Admissions 220 Grove Avenue, Prescott, Arizona, 86301

  1. Autobiographical Essay: Submit a two to four page autobiographical essay reflecting on your past academic experiences and your educational goals
  2. One letter of recommendation: First-time Freshmen must have a letter written by a teacher or counselor; transfer students may have a letter from anyone except family or a significant other. Please note you will have an opportunity to gather letters of recommendation by email through the online application.  
  3. Test Scores: Prescott College does not require applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores for admission. Applicants are welcome to submit their scores as part of their application. Our SAT code is 0484 and our  ACT code is 5022.
  4. Official transcripts can be submitted electronically by the issuing institution via Parchment or through the mail at:

 

Office of Admissions
Prescott College
202 Grove Avenue
Prescott, Arizona 86301

 

All transcripts submitted by mail must arrive in an official sealed envelope from the issuing institution.

Please note: unofficial transcripts may be submitted for the admissions committee to begin a preliminary evaluation of an application. Official transcripts will be required to provide an official offer of admission.

Let’s get going! We are here to support you during the admissions process. If you have any questions, please contact us at 1-877-350-2100 or admissions@prescott.edu for assistance.

Our Faculty
http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/dmitten_426.jpg

Denise Mitten

Instruction|Faculty / Director, PhD in Sustainability Education

dmitten@prescott.edu

9283501004