環境研究與可持續發展

理學學士學位(BS)
簽名課程
動物行為動物生物學
植物學微積分:理論與實踐
植物生態學保護生物學領域方法
地質學中的野外方法
普通化學基礎
地理信息科學
亞利桑那地貌學地質學概論
西南自然史與生態學專題
西部第一階段有機進化水

環境研究理學士學位課程適合那些追求嚴謹和羞怯的學生; 紀律探索地球的自然系統和過程以及依賴和影響這些系統和過程的人類的作用。 憑藉在自然科學方面的堅實基礎和對環境科學政策影響的廣泛理解,具有該學位的學生將為該領域的研究生學習做好充分準備,並為公共機構和私營企業的就業做好充分準備,致力於更加可持續的未來。 學生將充分了解自然歷史和生態學,作為嵌入科學研究的背景。 學生還將考慮道德和政策,因為他們為科學努力建立了強有力的,有意義的應用。 定位每個秋天和春天,新的 Prescott College 學生髮現自己處於“教室”,這是西南地區令人驚嘆的,有時是原始的,總是多樣化的地形和環境。 新普雷斯科特的學生被介紹到西南的自然環境,了解自己和彼此,並體驗教育的哲學 Prescott College 在迎新期間,開始了與新家園,社區和學術生涯發展關係的旅程。 對於大多數學生來說,迎新活動將意味著為期三週的沙漠,山地和峽谷探險(又名荒野方向)。 學生作為一個參與學習的小型社區,將在亞利桑那州生態多樣化的地方進行背包旅行。 學習 - 連接 - 成長。 其他學生將參加大本營迎新活動或社區迎新活動。 請點擊此鏈接獲取有關這些入學選項的詳細信息:入學詳細信息第一年學習在第一學期,新生將報名參加解決成為大學生的疑慮和挑戰的課程。 第一年學生將選擇一系列沉浸式學期課程 - 如西方水,藝術與生態,領導基礎,心理學與瑜伽導論 - 繼續建立社區,與教師顧問建立關係,並開展學術探究。 在他們的第一個學期 Prescott College,轉學生參加21st世紀的危機:研究方法與理論。 來自環境和社會學科,藝術和人文學科的學生將被介紹到理論和研究方法,通過課堂討論和個人研究來培養他們的問題。 參加本課程的學生將獲得個人支持,以創建學位計劃,將他們正在轉學的課程組織成一個在所選領域畢業的途徑。 學位計劃在大三的第一學期,學生在他們的教師顧問的幫助下創建學位計劃,該計劃草擬了他們旅程的學術地圖。 它包括所獲課程和學分的概述; 能力,廣度和文科領域的簡要描述; 已完成的課程清單和待完成的課程清單; 暫定的高級項目計劃和描述; 以及有助於提高能力或廣度的額外榮譽或經驗。 學位計劃是一份生動的文件,在整個學生的最後三個學期內不斷發展。 高級項目 Prescott College 要求每個學生,而不僅僅是指定的“榮譽”學生,設計和實施雄心勃勃的高級項目。 該項目既是能力的證明,也是本科生經驗的高潮。 它可能採取雄心勃勃的研究項目,原創性寫作,課程計劃和實施,工作室藝術展覽,表演,案例或實地研究或具有挑戰性的實習的形式。 另一種思考高級項目的方式是作為學生本科生涯和畢業後工作之間的橋樑。 高級項目是一張電話卡,宣布研究生院,未來的雇主和世界,“看,這是我能做的。”

  • 生物學家
  • 保護數據專家
  • 生態學家|環境律師/律師
  • 研究所
  • 高中科學老師
  • 海洋生物學家
  • 自然資源專家

應用材料

主動! 在開始申請流程之前,請查看我們所需的補充申請材料清單。 所有申請材料都應通過在線申請門戶網站提交。 您必須將官方成績單和材料郵寄至 Prescott College,招生辦公室220 Grove Avenue,Prescott,Arizona,86301

  1. 自傳論文:提交一篇兩到四頁的自傳文章,反映你過去的學術經歷和你的教育目標
  2. 一封推薦信: 初次接受新生必須有老師或輔導員寫的信; 轉學生可能會收到除家人或其他重要人士以外的任何人的來信。 請注意,您將有機會通過在線申請通過電子郵件收集推薦信。
  3. 測試成績: Prescott College 不要求申請人提交SAT或ACT分數。 歡迎申請人在申請時提交他們的分數。 我們的SAT代碼是0484,我們的ACT代碼是5022。
  4. 官方成績單 可以由發證機構通過電子方式提交 羊皮紙 或通過郵件:

招生辦公室
Prescott College
202 Grove Avenue
普雷斯科特,亞利桑那州86301

通過郵件提交的所有成績單必須通過發證機構的官方密封信封到達。

請注意: 可以向招生委員會提交非官方成績單,以開始對申請進行初步評估。 官方成績單將被要求提供正式錄取通知書。

我們走吧! 我們在招生過程中為您提供支持。 如果您有任何疑問,請通過1-877-350-2100與我們聯繫或 admissions@prescott.edu 尋求幫助。

我們的學院

Environmental Studies & Sustainability

Bachelor of Science Degree (BS)
Signature Courses
Animal Behavior Animal Biology
Botany Calculus: Theory & Practice
Conservation Biology Field Methods for Plant Ecology
Field Methods in Geology
Foundations of General Chemistry
Geographic Information Science
Introduction to Geology of Arizona Geomorphology
Topics in Natural History & Ecology of the Southwest
Phase I Organic Evolution Water in the West

The Bachelor of Science Degree in Environmental Studies is for students seeking rigorous multi­ disciplinary exploration of the natural systems and processes of the Earth and the role of humans who both depend on and influence these systems and processes. With a strong foundation in the natural sciences and a broad understanding of the policy implications of environmental science, students with this degree will be well prepared for graduate study in this field and for employment with both public agencies and private businesses working toward a more sustainable future. Students will become well informed about natural history and ecology, as a context in which to embed their scientific study. Students will also consider ethics and policy as they build strong, meaningful applications for scientific endeavor. Orientation Each fall and spring, new Prescott College students find themselves in "the classroom," the breathtaking, sometimes raw, always diverse terrains and environments of the Southwest. New Prescott students are introduced to the natural environment of the Southwest, learn about themselves and each other, and experience the educational philosophies of Prescott College during Orientation, thus beginning the journey of developing relationships with their new home, community, and academic career. For most students, Orientation will mean a three-week Desert, Mountain and Canyon Expedition (aka Wilderness Orientation). Students, as a small community of engaged learners, will be backpacking throughout ecologically diverse locations in Arizona. Studying - Connecting - Growing. Other students will participate in a Base Camp Orientation, or Community-Based Orientation. Follow this link for detailed information on these Orientation options: Orientation Details First Year Experience In their first semester, freshmen will enroll in courses addressing the concerns and challenges of being a college student. First Year Students will choose from an array of immersive semester courses - like Water in the West, Art and Ecology, Foundations of Leadership, and Introduction to Psychology and Yoga - which continue to build community, forge relationships with faculty advisors, and develop academic inquiry. In their first semester at Prescott College, transfer students participate in Crises of the 21st Century: Research Methods & Theories. Students from environmental and social disciplines, the arts, and humanities will be introduced to theoretical and research approaches that foster ways of integrating their questions through class discussions and personal research. Students enrolled in this course will be given individual support in creating a degree plan organizing courses they are transferring with into a pathway for graduation in their chosen fields. Degree Plan During the first semester of their junior year, students create a degree plan, with the assistance of their faculty adviser, which sketches the academic map of their journey. It includes an overview of courses and credits earned; brief descriptions of competence, breadth, and liberal arts areas; lists of courses completed and those to be completed; a tentative Senior Project plan and description; and additional honors or experience that contribute to competence or breadth. The Degree Plan is a living document that continues to evolve throughout the student's final three terms. Senior Project Prescott College requires every student, not just designated "honors" students, to design and carry out an ambitious Senior Project. This Project functions as both a demonstration of competence and a culmination of the undergraduate experience. It may take the form of an ambitious research project, a collection of original creative writing, a curriculum plan and implementation, a studio art exhibition, a performance, a case or field study, or a challenging internship. Another way of thinking about the Senior Project is as a bridge between a student's undergraduate career and work after graduation. The Senior Project stands as a calling card that proclaims to graduate schools, prospective employers, and the world, "Look, this is what I'm capable of doing."

 

  • Biologist
  • Conservation Data Specialist
  • Ecologist|Environmental Attorney/Lawyer
  • Graduate School
  • High School Science Teacher
  • Marine Biologist
  • Natural Resource Specialist

Application Materials 

Be proactive! Review our list of required supplemental application materials before starting your application process. All application materials should be submitted through the online application portal. You must mail official transcripts and materials to Prescott College, Office of Admissions 220 Grove Avenue, Prescott, Arizona, 86301

  1. Autobiographical Essay: Submit a two to four page autobiographical essay reflecting on your past academic experiences and your educational goals
  2. One letter of recommendation: First-time Freshmen must have a letter written by a teacher or counselor; transfer students may have a letter from anyone except family or a significant other. Please note you will have an opportunity to gather letters of recommendation by email through the online application.  
  3. Test Scores: Prescott College does not require applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores for admission. Applicants are welcome to submit their scores as part of their application. Our SAT code is 0484 and our  ACT code is 5022.
  4. Official transcripts can be submitted electronically by the issuing institution via Parchment or through the mail at:

 

Office of Admissions
Prescott College
202 Grove Avenue
Prescott, Arizona 86301

 

All transcripts submitted by mail must arrive in an official sealed envelope from the issuing institution.

Please note: unofficial transcripts may be submitted for the admissions committee to begin a preliminary evaluation of an application. Official transcripts will be required to provide an official offer of admission.

Let’s get going! We are here to support you during the admissions process. If you have any questions, please contact us at 1-877-350-2100 or admissions@prescott.edu for assistance.

Our Faculty
http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/dmitten_426.jpg

Denise Mitten

Instruction|Faculty / Director, PhD in Sustainability Education

dmitten@prescott.edu

9283501004