لوري كورتيس | Prescott College
MS
البيان الأكاديمي

لوري هو عالم ومعلم وكاتب. تتضمن حياتها المهنية التي تمتد إلى 40 البحوث المائية (الداخلية والبحرية) ، والحفظ التطبيقي ، وأدوار الإدارة المتنوعة في مجموعة متنوعة من التخصصات. انها تقسم وقتها بين التدريس في Prescott College وعملها مديرة العلوم والتعليم لمعهد بحيرة وايتفيش - وهي منظمة غير ربحية صغيرة في شمال غرب مونتانا. يتيح لها عملها في المعهد الانتقال من البحث العلمي ، إلى التعاون المجتمعي ، إلى إعلام السياسة. كجزء من وظيفتها ، فإنها تدير أيضا الأراضي الرطبة الحية تريل الطبيعة مجمع للأراضي الرطبة بمساحة 28 يعمل ككلية مطهرة لبحيرة وايتفيش ومصدر تعليمي للمجتمع.

يتمتع لوري بخبرة واسعة في جميع جوانب إدارة المشاريع والتنظيم والتسويق والعلاقات العامة والإدارة المالية ولديه مهارات تنظيمية ممتازة. عملت في الشركات الناشئة المدعومة من المشاريع ، والمؤسسات غير الربحية ، والشركات الكبيرة المنشأة ، وهي كاتبة منح ماهرة وجمع التبرعات. قبل حصولها على درجة الماجستير في الدراسات البيئية (تركيز بيولوجيا الحفظ) ، عملت في العديد من الصناعات بما في ذلك التكنولوجيا الكهروضوئية ومعدات أشباه الموصلات وأمن المعلومات وقدمت هذه الخدمات.

كلية الماجستير في جرين ماونتن كولينسيانس 2011 ، التدريس:

نظرية بيولوجية وممارسة

يوميات الميدان

تتويج / أطروحة الاقتراح

كتابة المنح

تصميم الدورة:

تتويج / أطروحة الاقتراح

تتويجا / أطروحة تعليمي

تتويجا / مستشار الأطروحة:

MRSC و MSES و MBA

مدير العلوم والتعليم

شغل لوري منصب مدير العلوم والتعليم لمعهد بحيرة وايتفيش (www.whitefishlke.org) في وايتفيش ، مونتانا ، حيث تجري أبحاثًا وإعداد التقارير حول الأحياء المائية وأحواض المياه ، وتطوير برنامج تعليمي لـ K-12 وطلاب الجامعات ومدربيهم.

تعليم

ماجستير الدراسات البيئية / بيولوجيا الحفظ ، كلية الجبل الأخضر

دراسات عليا: علم البيئة المائية ، محطة فلاتهيد ليك البيولوجية ، جامعة مونتانا ، بولسون ، مونتانا

خبرة

لوري لديه خبرة في فهم ووصف وإشراك الجماهير حول مستجمعات المياه الخاصة بهم ولديه معرفة محددة حول بحيرة وايتفيش ومستجمعات المياه في فلاتهيد في مونتانا. وهي على دراية تامة بالأنواع الغازية المائية (AIS) ، وهي مفتش ومدرِّب للقوارب المائية AIS مدربة في ولاية مونتانا ، وتعمل كمعلمة AIS. لوري لديها معرفة واسعة حول قضية العصارة الإنتانية في البيئات المائية ودراسات العصارة الإنتانية من منظور علمي واجتماعي في مجتمعها المحلي من السمك الأبيض.

المنشورات

محرر، أصوات بحيرتنا (2018)

ملخص للمعلومات العلمية وأفكار المجتمع بشأن بحيرة وايتفيش

المؤلف، فلاتهيد مستجمعات المياه: دليل إلى مكان غير عادي (2010 ، 2017)

كتاب يوضح التاريخ الطبيعي والثقافي لمستجمعات المياه في فلاتهيد الذي يعرض تفاصيل التنوع البيولوجي ونوعية المياه وإدارة الأراضي والإنتاج الزراعي والاقتصاد. وهي تحدد موارد الحفظ والتعليم وتستخدمها من قبل المعلمين في المدارس الابتدائية والمدارس الثانوية والكليات في جميع أنحاء ولاية مونتانا. خدم موقع الكتاب والمرافق (www.flatheadwatershed.org) كأطروحة ماجستير MSN 2010 في GMC. تم إصدار منهج مصاحب للمدرسة المتوسطة للاستخدام مع Sourcebook في 2016.

منسقة مؤسسة كتاب بحيرة مونتانا (2017)

دليل إعلامي حول وظائف البحيرات في ولاية مونتانا

المؤلف المشارك، تقرير موارد مياه وايتفيش: وضع مستجمعات بحيرة وايتفيش 2015

أول تقرير كامل عن حالة جودة المياه ومؤسسة شاملة علميًا لإدارة نوعية المياه على المدى الطويل في منطقة وايتفيش ليك لمستجمعات المياه والمناطق المحيطة بها

المؤلف الرئيسي، التحقيق في ترسبات التفسخ إلى منطقة شواطئ بحيرة وايتفيش 2012

البحث لتحديد الراشح الإنتاني على البحيرة وتعزيز الحلول المحلية

الجوائز والمنح والشرف

جائزة 2011 للكاتب المتميز من قسم مونتانا بجمعية مصايد الأسماك الأمريكية

2010 Partner of the Year Award من Northwest Regional Conservation & Development.

2019 تقضي عامها الثاني كرئيسة عينتها حاكم ولاية مونتانا في لجنة الحفاظ على كولومبيا العليا (UC)3) ونائبة الرئيس وسنتها الخامسة كمشرفة على مجلس إدارة مقاطعة فلاتهيد

الميسر الفني لمدينة وايتفيش

عضو في لجنة تعليم مستجمعات المياه في مدينة فلاتهيد (CORE).

Lori Curtis | Prescott College

Lori Curtis

M.S.
Academic Statement

Lori is a scientist, an educator, and a writer. Her 40-year career includes aquatic research (inland and marine), applied conservtion,  and diverse management roles across a variety of disciplines. She splits her time between teaching at Prescott College and her work as Science & Education DIrector for the Whitefish Lake Institute - a small nonprofit in northwest Montana. Her work at the Institute allows her to move from scientific research, to community collaboration, to informing policy. As part of her job, she also manages the Living Wetlands Interpretive Nature Trail a 28-acre wetland complex that serves as a cleansing kidney to Whitefish Lake and an educational resource to the community.

Lori is well-versed in all facets of project and organizational management, marketing, public relations, and financial management, and has excellent organizational skills. She has worked in venture-backed start-ups, nonprofits, and large established corporations and is a skilled grant writer and fundraiser. Prior to receiving her Master's in Environmental Studies (Conservation Biology concentration), she worked in and provided services for diverse industries including photovoltaic technology, semiconductor equipment, and information security. 

Masters faculty at Green Mountain Collegesince 2011, teaching:

Bioregional Theory and Practice

Field Journaling

Capstone/Thesis Proposal

Grant Writing

Course Design:

Capstone/Thesis Proposal

Capstone/Thesis Tutorial

Capstone/Thesis Advisor:

MRSC, MSES and MBA

 

Science & Education Director

Lori has served as Science & Education Director for the Whitefish Lake Institute (www.whitefishlke.org)  in Whitefish, Montana where she conducts aquatic and watershed research and reporting, and education program development for K-12 and college students and their instructors.

Education

M.S. Environmental Studies/Conservation Biology, Green Mountain College

Post graduate studies: Stream Ecology, Flathead Lake Biological Station, University of Montana, Polson, MT

Expertise

Lori has expertise in understanding, describing, and engaging audiences about their watersheds and has specific knowledge about the Whitefish Lake and Flathead Watersheds in Montana. She is very knowledgeable about aquatic invasive species (AIS), is a trained AIS watercraft inspector and decontaminator in the state of Montana, and serves as an AIS educator. Lori has extensive knowledge about the issue of septic leachate in aquatic environments and has studies septic leachate from a scientific and social perspective in her home community of Whitefish.

Publications

Editor, Voices of Our Lake (2018)

A compendium of scientific information and community thoughts regarding Whitefish Lake

 

Author, Flathead Watershed Sourcebook: A Guide to an Extraordinary Place (2010, 2017)

A book that illustrates the natural and cultural histories of the Flathead Watershed detailing biodiversity, water quality, land management, agricultural production, and economics. It identifies conservation and education resources and is used by educators in grade schools, high schools, and colleges throughout Montana. The book and companion website (www.flatheadwatershed.org) served as her MSES 2010 Master’s thesis at GMC. A companion middle school curriculum for use with the Sourcebook was released in 2016.

 

Co-coordinator, Montana Lake Book (2017)

An informational guide about the functionality of lakes in Montana

 

Co-author, Whitefish Water Resources Report: A Status of the Whitefish Lake Watershed (2015)

The first complete water quality status report and a scientifically comprehensive foundation for long-term water quality management of the Whitefish Lake Watershed & Surrounding Area

 

Lead author, Investigation of Septic Leachate to the Shoreline Area of Whitefish Lake (2012)

Research to identify septic leachate on the lake and promote local solutions

Awards, Grants, & Honors

2011 Outstanding Writer Award from the Montana Chapter of the American Fisheries Society

2010 Partner of the Year Award from the Northwest Regional Resource Conservation & Development.

2019 Serving her second year as the Montana Governor-appointed Chair of the Upper Columbia Conservation Commission (UC3) and Vice-Chair and her fifth year as a Supervisor on the Flathead Conservation District Board

Technical facilitator for the City of Whitefish

Member of the Flathead Community of Research Educators (CORE) Watershed Education Committee.