家庭教育權利和隱私法案(FERPA)

Prescott College 學生記錄披露政策

Prescott College 努力完全遵守1974的《家庭教育權利和隱私權法》(經修訂)。 該聯邦法律旨在保護教育記錄的私密性,確立學生檢查和審查其教育記錄的權利,為通過非正式和正式聽證會更正不正確或誤導性數據提供指導,並提交解釋性聲明如果聽證會的結果不令人滿意,則將其包括在教育記錄中。

保護和披露學生記錄

Prescott College 賦予該法規定的所有權利給宣布獨立的學生。 未經學生的事先書面同意,學院以外的任何人都不得訪問學生的記錄,或者該機構也不會披露任何信息,但以下情況除外:向提供學生資助的個人或組織; 履行其認可職能的認可機構; 給遵守司法命令的人; 以及在緊急情況下的人員,以保護學生或其他人員的健康或安全。 該法案允許所有這些例外。

教育記錄不包括工作記錄(因在校生身份而招募的學生除外),校友記錄,學生健康記錄或教學,行政和其他人員的唯一記錄製造商的身份,除非是臨時替代者,否則任何人都無法訪問或透露。

內 Prescott College 在社區中,僅允許那些出於學生的教育興趣單獨或集體行動的成員訪問學生的教育記錄。 這些人員包括財務援助,業務,招生和書記官長辦公室的人員,以及院長,執行副總裁,顧問和教職員工,只要他們不需了解。

目錄信息:學院可以根據該法案的規定酌情提供目錄信息,包括:

  • 學生姓名
  • 家庭和本地地址
  • 電子郵件和網站地址
  • 所有電話號碼
  • 出生地點和日期
  • 照片
  • 研究領域,包括能力,廣度和學位/課程領域
  • 出勤日期和全職/兼職狀態
  • 獲得所有學位並獲得獎項
  • 預計畢業/完成日期
  • 顧問姓名
  • 最近曾就讀過的教育機構
  • 參加官方認可的活動

學生可以通過書面通知註冊服務商辦公室要求保留目錄信息(“目錄保留”)。 當學生畢業或退出學院時,目錄保留將從學生的記錄中刪除。

查看和/或修改記錄的權利

Prescott College 學生可以不受限制地訪問自己的記錄,並可以自付費用製作自己的記錄副本,但以下情況除外:在欠大學的情況下; 或以前參加過的機構的成績單副本。 認為自己的教育記錄包含不准確或誤導性信息,或侵犯隱私或其他權利的信息的學生,可以與教務長和/或所涉及的學術人員非正式地討論他們的疑慮。 如果決定與學生的要求相符,則將修改適當的記錄。 否則,書記官長將告知學生其提出“學術申訴”的權利,該申訴將作為正式聽證會。 有關該過程的詳細信息,請參閱《學生申訴程序》。

提出投訴的權利

指控學院違反《家庭教育權利和隱私法》的學生可以向家庭合規辦公室提出書面投訴:

美國教育部家庭合規辦公室
400馬里蘭大道
華盛頓特區,
20202-5920
電話:1-800-872-5327
網站: http://www2.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/fpco

三回目の翻訳結果

Prescott College 在每個學期的入學材料中告知學生有關《家庭教育權利和隱私權法》的信息。

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)

Prescott College Policy on Disclosure of Student Records

Prescott College strives to comply fully with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (as amended). This federal law was designated to protect the privacy of education records, to establish the right of students to inspect and review their education records, to provide guidelines for the correction of inaccurate or misleading data through informal and formal hearings, and to submit an explanatory statement for inclusion in the education record if the outcome of the hearing is unsatisfactory.

Protection and Disclosure of Student Records

Prescott College accords all the rights under the Act to students who are declared independent. No one outside the College shall have access to, nor will the institution disclose any information from, a student’s records without the prior written consent of the student, except: to persons or organizations providing student financial aid; to accrediting agencies carrying out their accreditation function; to persons in compliance with a judicial order; and to persons in an emergency in order to protect the health or safety of students or other persons. All these exceptions are permitted under the Act.

Education records do not include employment records (except where an enrolled student is employed as a result of his or her status as a student), alumni records, student health records, or records of instructional, administrative, and other personnel which are the sole possession of the maker and are not accessible or revealed to any individual except a temporary substitute.

Within the Prescott College community, only those members, individually or collectively acting in the students' educational interest, are allowed access to student educational records. These include personnel in the Financial Aid, Business, Admissions, and Registrar’s offices, as well as deans, executive vice president, advisors, and faculty, within the limitations of their need to know.

Directory Information: At its discretion, the College may provide Directory Information in accordance with the provisions of the Act to include:

  • student name
  • home and local addresses
  • email and web site addresses
  • all phone numbers
  • date and place of birth
  • photographs
  • fields of study, including competence, breadth, and primary degree/program area
  • dates of attendance and full-time/part-time status
  • all degrees earned and awards received
  • anticipated graduation/completion date
  • advisor(s) name(s)
  • recently attended previous educational institution(s)
  • participation in officially recognized activities

Students may request to withhold Directory Information (“Directory Hold”) by notifying the Office of the Registrar in writing. Directory Holds will be removed from students’ records when they graduate or withdraw from the College.

Right to View and/or Amend Records

Prescott College students have unrestricted access to their own records, and may have copies made of their records at their own expense, except for the following: in cases of outstanding debt to the College; or copies of transcripts from previously attended institutions. Students who believe that their education records contain information that is inaccurate or misleading, or otherwise in violation of their privacy or other rights, may discuss their concerns informally with the Registrar and/or with the academic personnel involved. If the decisions are in agreement with the student's request, the appropriate records will be amended. If not, students will be informed by the Registrar of their right to file an “academic grievance” which will serve as a formal hearing. See Student Grievance Procedures for details on that process.

Right to File a Complaint

A student alleging College noncompliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act may file a written complaint with the Family Compliance Office:

Family Compliance Office, U.S. Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue S.W.
Washington, D.C.
20202-5920
Phone: 1-800-872-5327
Website: http://www2.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/fpco

Notification

Prescott College informs students about the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act in each term’s enrollment materials.