مركز الجبل الأخضر للاستدامة في Prescott College

مركز الجبل الأخضر
مركز الجبل الأخضر للاستدامة في Prescott College يخدم الطلاب والخريجين والموظفين والمواطنين المحليين والجمهور عبر الإنترنت من خلال تشجيع التعلم من خلال تطوير حلول عملية لزيادة استدامة المجتمع. يدمج المركز النهج الحائز على جائزة كلية جرين ماونتن لتعليم الاستدامة مع Prescott Collegeالتاريخ الغني للقيادة في الدراسات البيئية والعدالة الاجتماعية. من خلال بناء مجتمعات التعلم من خلال الأحداث والبرامج ، وتسهيل الاتصالات بين أصحاب المصلحة ، وتبادل الموارد ، يقوم المركز بتنمية المهارات والمعارف اللازمة لإنشاء مجتمع أكثر عدلاً واستدامة.

أهدافنا تشمل ما يلي:

  • خلق شعور غني من المجتمع على Prescott College الحرم الجامعي للطلاب والموظفين وأعضاء المجتمع ، والخريجين من كل من كلية الجبل الأخضر و Prescott College
  • مواصلة الريادة الوطنية في تعليم الاستدامة من خلال الأنشطة السكنية وعبر الإنترنت ، وخلق وجود على الإنترنت يحتفي بالعمل الذي قام به الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس والخريجين من GMC و Prescott College
  • تشجيع ودعم الدورات التدريبية القائمة على المشاريع ، والدراسات المستقلة ، والمشاريع العليا ، والأنشطة المشتركة في المناهج الدراسية القائمة على إيجاد بدائل للممارسات غير المستدامة ، باستخدام Prescott College الحرم الجامعي والمنطقة المحيطة بها كمختبر للتعلم القائم على الحلول
  • بمثابة حاضنة لأبحاث الاستدامة ، والاستشارات ، وتنظيم المجتمع ، ورعاية المواد الناتجة عن هذه الجهود
  • تسهيل التعليم القائم على المكان والاتصال عبر الإنترنت بين المنظمات التي تركز على المناطق البيولوجية في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بناءً على النهج الأحيائي المميز للتعلم عن بعد الذي تم تطويره في GMC ويتم تنفيذه الآن من خلال Prescott Collegeبرامج الدراسات العليا

لماذا مركز الجبل الأخضر للاستدامة في Prescott College?

كتبه ليرد كريستنسن ، مدير مركز الجبل الأخضر للاستدامة

ليرد كريستنسن

في آب 2019 في Prescott College استقبل المجتمع أكثر من طلاب 150 وأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين من Green Mountain College في Poultney ، فيرمونت. أولئك منا الذين قاموا بالرحلة الطويلة من جبال Taconic المورقة يشعرون بالامتنان للاستقبال الذي تلقيناه هنا في المرتفعات الوسطى الصنوبرية في ولاية أريزونا ، ويسرنا أن نساعد على إنشاء مساحة مناسبة لكل من طلاب بريسكوت الحاليين والجرين ماونتين خريجي الكلية - عبر الإنترنت وفي الحرم الجامعي ، في قاعة الاستدامة في قاعة Cicada Hall.

بفضل تقليدها الطويل في التعليم البيئي والتركيز على العدالة الاجتماعية ، Prescott College هو مكان طبيعي لمواصلة أعمال كلية الجبل الأخضر. تشمل المقررات الدراسية للطلاب الجامعيين تعليم المغامرة والتنمية المجتمعية المستدامة والدراسات البيئية والعدالة الاجتماعية وتنظيم المجتمع. يتم الآن تعزيز برامج الدراسات العليا بالفعل في بريسكوت ، مثل درجة الدكتوراه في تعليم الاستدامة ، من خلال برامج MS الناجحة من كلية جرين ماونتن ، مثل أنظمة الأغذية المستدامة ، والدراسات البيئية ، والمجتمعات المرنة والمستدامة.

فما هو بالضبط دور مركز الجبل الأخضر للاستدامة في Prescott College؟ إلى جانب العمل الأساسي لدعم الطلاب والخريجين ، وبناء شعور بالمجتمع داخل الحرم الجامعي وما بعده ، سيواصل مركز الجبل الأخضر تقديم القيادة ، محلياً ووطنياً ، في تعزيز نهج التعليم القائم على إيجاد حلول للمشاكل التي تنشأ من النظم والممارسات الثقافية التي ليست ببساطة مستدامة. بشكل أو بآخر ، إنه العمل الأساسي في عصرنا.

قيادة الاستدامة في جي ام سي

تأسست كلية جرين ماونتن في 1834 في أكاديمية تروي للمؤتمرات ، وشهدت عددًا من التحولات قبل أن تتبنى أخيرًا مهمة فنون ليبرالية بيئية في 1996. كانت الفكرة هي أن دورات التعليم العام التي تشكل ثلث دورات الطالب - التاريخ والعلوم واللغة الإنجليزية وجميع المجالات الأخرى التي قد تتوقعها من تعليم الفنون الحرة - سيتم تدريسها بطرق تنعكس على التفاعلات بين البشر وبيئاتهم. ليس من المستغرب ، استغرق الأمر لحظة للثقافة للحاق تطلعات الكلية.

عندما بدأت التدريس في GMC في 2000 ، كانت المهمة البيئية في عملية إعادة تعريف المؤسسة. لا يزال بعض الطلاب على مقربة من منتجعات التزلج في كلينجتون وجبل ستراتون ، في حين أن البعض الآخر جذبهم بجمال الريف أو التخصصات الرئيسية مثل Therapeutic Recreation. في 2002 ، اهتزت الأجواء الفكرية في الحرم الجامعي بأفضل الطرق من خلال وصول العشرات من الطلاب من كلية جودارد ، وهي مؤسسة تقدمية مشهورة اضطرت إلى إغلاق برامجها الجامعية السكنية.

بواسطة 2005 ، كان العديد من الطلاب يأتون خصيصًا للسمعة البيئية للمدرسة ، وقد سعى باحثون محترمون من جميع أنحاء البلاد إلى الحصول على وظائف في الكلية. بدأنا في تقديم برامج الدراسات العليا التي تحمل موضوع الاستدامة في 2006 ، لكن طلابنا هم الذين قادوا الطريق عندما قمنا بتركيب مصنع الكتلة الحيوية من مصادر محلية للتدفئة والطاقة ، وأقنعنا مجلس الأمناء بالتخلي عن الشركات التي تستفيد من الوقود الأحفوري. كنا على الطريق الصحيح. نما الالتحاق السكني إلى أعلى نقطة له حتى الركود العظيم في العام الدراسي 2007-08 ، واستمر الالتحاق بالنمو في برامج الدراسات العليا حتى النهاية.

عززت Green Mountain College مكانتها كرائد وطني في التعليم من أجل الاستدامة على مدار العقد الماضي: أصبح حرمنا الريفي محايدًا من حيث الكربون في 2011 وكنا دائمًا في المراكز العشرة الأولى من "أروع المدارس" في Sierra Club (بما في ذلك #1 في 2010 و 2018 ). تم تصنيف مناهجنا في المرتبة الأولى من قبل جمعية النهوض بالاستدامة في التعليم العالي (AASHE) في العامين الأخيرين بالكلية ، حيث حصلت على أعلى الدرجات على الإطلاق.

ومع ذلك ، لم يكن أي من ذلك كافيًا لمنع إغلاقه في يونيو 2019 ، بعد سنوات 185 التي رسخت الشارع الرئيسي في Poultney.

تصبح جزءا من Prescott College

المفارقة هي ضياع أي شخص أثبت زعيم الأمة في تعليم الاستدامة أنه غير قادر على البقاء. في الواقع ، للحكم من تعليقات في مجلة وول ستريت، خلص بعض القراء إلى أنه كان نموذج التعليم من أجل الاستدامة الذي كان السبب في إغلاق الكلية. في الواقع ، تضاعف عدد الكليات التي تظهر الاستدامة في مناهجها الدراسية من مجرد حفنة في 2006 إلى أكثر من 400 اليوم ، بما في ذلك جامعة كورنيل وكلية بارد وجامعة إيموري والجامعات الحكومية في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

لا ، تم القيام بكلية جرين ماونتن من خلال مجموعة من العوامل. بدأ الالتحاق بالجامعة في التراجع خلال فترة الركود الكبير ، عندما شعر الكثير من أولياء الأمور والطلاب بعدم قدرتهم على تحمل الرسوم في كلية الفنون الحرة الخاصة. وأعقب ذلك تراجع سكاني أدى إلى انخفاض عدد الطلاب المسجلين لأول مرة منذ عشر سنوات ، مما أدى إلى إصابة كليات شمال شرق البلاد أصعب بكثير من أجزاء أخرى من البلاد.

ومع ذلك ، فإن الدروس التي تعلمناها على الطريق أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى. مثل زملائنا هنا في Prescott College، ندرك الحاجة إلى اتباع نهج للتعليم العالي يعتمد على إيجاد حلول "للمشاكل الشريرة" - التي تقاوم الحلول البسيطة - في عصر أزمة المناخ والتفاوت الاقتصادي المتزايد.

نحن متحمسون لنشر بذور الاستدامة ، من خلال المشاريع هنا في بريسكوت وبقدر ما نستطيع من خلال شبكة الإنترنت. فيما يلي بعض الأهداف التي حددها مركز الجبل الأخضر للاستدامة والتي نشعر بالإثارة إزاءها:

  • هنا في الحرم الجامعي ، أنشأنا صالة الاستدامة لمساعدة طلاب GMC على الانتقال إلى بيئة مختلفة تمامًا ، وبناء شعور بالمجتمع والتركيز على الاستدامة الاجتماعية بالتعاون مع مجموعات الطلاب الأخرى.
  • نحن نعمل مع الطلاب من خلال الأندية والفصول الدراسية وفرص دراسة العمل لتحسين كفاءة الطاقة والحد من النفايات: وتشمل المشاريع الحالية التسميد على مستوى الحرم الجامعي ، والتعليم حول فرز النفايات ، وحتى المتجر المجاني في صالة Susty.
  • نحتفل بالخريجين وننشئ شبكات توجيه تخدم الطلاب الجامعيين وطلاب الدراسات العليا والخريجين ؛ نحن نرحب بمشاركتكم والأفكار حول كيفية جعل هذه العمليات أكثر فعالية.
  • لقد بدأنا العمل على إنشاء مركز لتبادل المعلومات يستند إلى منهجنا الأقليمي البيولوجي للتعليم عن بعد ، مما يسمح للطلاب والمهنيين باستخدام تكنولوجيا نظم المعلومات الجغرافية للربط بالمنظمات والوكالات والفرص المحلية بنقرة واحدة على الخريطة.

وهذه مجرد بداية. نعم ، ما زلنا نشعر بفقدان منزلنا في فيرمونت ، لكنه يجعل الأمور أسهل بكثير عندما ننظر حولنا Prescott College وشاهد الكثير من الوجوه المألوفة من GMC: أشخاص مثل مارك دايلي وإليانور تيسون وروبن كوري وكريستينا فابري وبيل برادو - ناهيك عن المقربين من طلاب 100 الجامعيين (على الأقل يبدو بعضهم في مقهى كروس رودز في كل مرة أكون فيها يتوقف عند). آخرون ، مثل ميريل بروكس وبيل ثروب وكريس بروكس يواصلون التدريس عبر الإنترنت والانضمام إلينا في الحرم الجامعي للإقامة في بعض الأحيان.

يشرفنا أن نساهم في إرث كلية Green Mountain College هنا - لكنني أدركت أننا جميعًا منخرطون في نفس العمل الجيد ، أينما كنا ، عندما نشارك شيئًا واعداً من الحياة التي تعلمناها يعيشون في نهاية الشارع الرئيسي في بولتني ، فيرمونت.

حرم كلية الجبل الأخضر ، بولتني ، VT 2018

نرحب ترحيبا حارا لجميع الخريجين لدينا!

إذا كنت قد شاهدت فيلم Dead Poets Society ، فقد تتذكره المشهد حيث يقود المعلم ، الذي يلعبه روبن ويليامز ، صفه إلى الخارج للاطلاع على عرض لصور جماعية التقطت للطلاب قبل قرن من الزمان. في الفيلم ، بينما ينظر الطلاب ، تقوم الكاميرا ببطء بتكبير الوجوه في تلك الصور القديمة بالأبيض والأسود.

"ليسوا مختلفين عنك ، أليس كذلك؟" يسأل ويليامز. في الواقع ، ليس من الصعب تخيل إصدارات أكثر حداثة من نفس الوجوه التي تجلس إلى جوارنا في ويثي هول - ربما مثقوبة وقليلة الهزيلة ، مع ذلك ، مرتدية قمصان كارهارتس وفيش.

إنها "طعام للديدان ،" وليامز ، "سماد للنرجس البري." الدرس ، بالطبع ، هو الكارب دايم: حياتنا عابرة ، لذلك من الأفضل أن نستفيد منها.

إنه درس ربما تعلمناه بطرق عديدة ، سواء كان ذلك القانون الثاني للديناميكا الحرارية أو من خلال السماد العضوي الذي ساعدنا في الانتشار في حقول مزرعة Cerridwen.

ولكن مثل هذا السماد - وهو تشبيه من المرجح أن يلعبه هذا الحشد أكثر من الآخرين - لا شك أننا سنواصل القيام بعمل جيد ، لإثراء بيئاتنا ، حتى بعد أن ننتهي من هذه الهيئات. لأن الدروس التي تعلمناها من خلال علامتنا التجارية الغريبة الخاصة بالتعليم أكبر من أن نحافظ عليها لأنفسنا.

لقد رأينا تلك الدروس تتدفق من الحياة التي اخترتها ، سواء كانت اختياراتك تقودك إلى مقر الولاية أو الفصل الدراسي أو المزرعة أو الخطوط الأمامية للعمل المباشر. ومن ثم ، هناك تأثيرات رائعة لديك ، والفرق الذي أحدثته في حياة أطفالك أو أصدقائك ، أو حتى الغرباء الذين يلاحظون فعلًا لطيفًا منك ، أو استعدادًا للمساعدة ، أو التفكير في عواقب أفعالك. لقد جعلتنا فخورون.

دعنا نحافظ على انتشار هذه التموجات.

تتمثل إحدى طرق مواصلة تراث Green Mountain College في مساعدتك في متابعة كل ما تعلمته ، من خلال خبراتك التعليمية والتعليمية. عنصر أساسي في مركز الجبل الأخضر للاستدامة في Prescott College هو خلق فرص للخريجين لدينا لتكون بمثابة مرشدين للطلاب الجامعيين وطلاب الدراسات العليا. في هذه المرحلة ، نحن نبحث في مجموعة متنوعة من الأنظمة الأخرى لخدمة الخريجين والطلاب الحاليين ، ونود أن نسمع أي اقتراحات قد تكون لديكم.

لكننا مهتمون أيضًا بخلق فرص التواصل المهني التي ستخدمكم جميعًا: بعد كل شيء ، هناك الآلاف منكم هناك فرق في العالم. نود أن نساعدك على التواصل معك ، سواء من خلال الموارد عبر الإنترنت أو التجمعات الإقليمية. إذا كنت نشطًا في إحدى مجموعات خريجي GMC ، فنحن نود المساعدة في دعم هذه المجتمعات أيضًا! نحن بصدد إنشاء خريطة تفاعلية لأمريكا الشمالية تتيح للأفراد تكبير الموارد وتحديدها في مجتمعاتهم ، وسيكون من السهل بدرجة كافية إضافة طبقة من بيانات الخريجين. يرجى اتخاذ دقيقة ل ملء استمارة قصيرة من شأنها أن تساعدنا على بناء هذه الاتصالات. بطريقة أو بأخرى كنا نحب أن نسمع منك!

أطيب التمنيات من بريسكوت ، وفيات لوكس!

السناجب الطائرة
في أكتوبر 26th ، أعيد تشكيلها حديثا السناجب الطائرة حضر أول بطولة معًا. انطلاقًا من مباراة رائعة قام بها فريق كرة القدم في بولتني في شهر يوليو الماضي وبكأس غير رسمي و "يوم التقاط" في وقت سابق من شهر أكتوبر ، السناجب من العديد من الأجيال حصلت على الفرصة الأولى للسفر معا. كان لدينا أعضاء يمتدون من تأسيس الفريق (1999) إلى فصل التخرج النهائي ، ولكن كان لدينا أيضًا بعض الأعضاء الجدد الذين يبحثون عن متعة وحفنة من زملائهم في الأزياء الشهيرة للانضمام إلى فريق فيرمونت المشمس الجميل يوم السبت. قدمت مسابقة Homebrew التي ترعاها فيرمونت لو بعض المسابقات الترفيهية والكلاسيكية السناجب أسلوب لعبنا بجد ، وسجلنا جيدًا ، وأخذنا معظم مبارياتنا إلى النهاية المريرة ، لكننا ما زلنا بلا فوز في اليوم. ربما لم نتمكن من الارتفاع ، فقد تكون بعض العظام القديمة والمفاصل الصعبة قد تسببت في تباطؤنا ، وربما كان لدينا الكثير من المرح بدلاً من أخذ الأمر على محمل الجد ، ولكن كانت هناك بعض الدروس المستفادة والعلاقات المبنية على يوم. سنرى ما هي الفرص المتاحة هذا الشتاء ولكن يبدو لي أن الربيع المقبل السناجب الطائرة سيكون جاهزًا للخروج من أعشاش الشتاء المريحة للوصول إلى الميدان ، والقفز ، ونأمل في اللحاق.

أضواء الاستدامة:
ميليسا ماركستروم 09 GMC

كتبه مادلين هوغي

بينما في منتصف الطريق حول العالم ، العمل مع الماساي في كينيا على تبادل إيكولوجي مع Prescott Collegeوجدت ميليسا ماركستروم نفسها دروسًا تعليمية من شأنها تشكيل عملها في المستقبل بطرق غير متوقعة.

ميليسا ماركستروم

قالت: "لقد تعلمت أن التحول الصائب من المستوى التالي يبدأ بقيادة المجتمع من خلال الانتقال مباشرة إلى المصدر وسؤال الناس عن قصصهم" ، مضيفةً "ترك الناس يخبرونك بما يحتاجون إليه ، ويثقون في الناس لمعرفة كيفية الحصول عليه ، والوقوف تضامنا معهم. لقد تعلمت قيمة مشاركة الموارد الخاصة بي والامتياز والرعاية والإصغاء والدعم المطلوب. "

تخرجت 2009 من كلية جرين ماونتن ، وميليسا هي خريجة كلية من الجيل الأول من مدينة فينيكس بولاية أريزونا. قضت 2008 في Prescott Collegeحيث درست النشاط المجتمعي في كينيا ، وكذلك دورة في دراسات الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك. تعمل حاليًا كمنظمة نقابية تساعد العاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية على تحقيق "الإنصاف والعدالة والعدالة في الوظيفة وفي مجتمعاتهم وعلى مستوى الولاية وعلى المستوى الوطني". كما تتطوع بتوفير النساء وقادة ونشطاء العمال من الجنسين. فرص بناء المهارات.

طلاب يعملون مع مركز ماساي التعليمي في كينيا
Prescott College يرسل الطلاب إلى كينيا للعمل مع معهد ماساي للتعليم والبحث والحفظ منذ 2008. الصورة الائتمان: جارفي التصوير الفوتوغرافي.

تعتبر ميليسا دورتين عالميتين أساسيتين لتعليمها التعامل مع النشاط من منظور المجتمع. وقد أوضح لها فصل الدراسات الحدودية بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك كيف تتداخل المجتمعات مع بيئاتها الطبيعية. لقد تعلمت أيضًا أن الحلول للمشاكل المجتمعية والبيئية المعقدة يجب أن يقودها أفراد في هذا المجتمع.

قالت ميليسا إن تعليمها في كل من جي إم سي وبريسكوت شجعها على "التفكير في الاستدامة من خلال تأصيل تعلمنا في النظم والتفكير المجتمعي" ، و "لتحليل القيم والفلسفات الخاصة بي ، واتخاذ إجراءات تجاه الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية تعتقد ميليسا أن التعليم يجب أن يعدّنا لأن نكون مواطنين من مجتمعاتنا ، سواء في وظائفنا أو "أنظمتنا السياسية أو أنماط حياتنا أو القيم والمهارات التي ننقلها إلى الأجيال القادمة".

بالنسبة لميليسا ، تسير العدالة جنبًا إلى جنب مع الاستدامة. كلاهما يؤثران في التدريب على العمل الحالي ودعم قادة المجتمع للخروج من العقليات الفردية والتفاعلات التنافسية التي يتم تشجيعها في مجتمعنا. تقوم بتدريب الأشخاص على الاهتمام ببعضهم البعض والتعاون بشكل أكثر اكتمالًا ، مما يضمن عمليات عادلة ومنصفة عندما يتوصل الأعضاء إلى قرارات جماعية ويبلغون نواياهم.

وجدت ميليسا أن العمل من أجل الاستدامة يتطلب الأمل والفضول والرغبة في التحرك.

"يجب أن نكون مستعدين للقاء أشخاص أينما كانوا. وقالت ميليسا: "يجب أن نكون مستعدين لاستخدام الفكاهة والفرح والأفكار لإلهام نشطاء المستقبل لتحل محلنا ، من أجل جعل النشاط نفسه مستدامًا". "علينا أن نكون على استعداد لدعوة المجتمع بأسره ، وخاصة أولئك الذين يفكرون بشكل مختلف عما نفعله ، للجلوس معنا والمشاركة في حوار حول كيفية التوجه نحو المجتمعات والبيئات المستدامة".

Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College

Green Mountain Center
The Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College serves students, alumni, staff, local citizens, and an online audience by promoting learning through the development of practical solutions for increasing community sustainability. The Center integrates Green Mountain College’s award-winning approach to sustainability education with Prescott College’s rich history of leadership in environmental studies and social justice. By building learning communities through events and programs, facilitating connections among stakeholders, and sharing resources, the center cultivates the skills and knowledge needed to create a more just and sustainable society.
 

Our goals include the following:

  • Create a rich sense of community on the Prescott College campus for students, staff, community members, and alumni from both Green Mountain College and Prescott College
  • Continue national leadership in sustainability education through residential and online activities, and create an online presence that celebrates the work done by students, faculty, and alumni of GMC and Prescott College
  • Encourage and support project-based courses, independent studies, senior projects, and co-curricular activities based on finding alternatives to unsustainable practices, using the Prescott College campus and its surrounding region as a laboratory for solutions-based learning
  • Serve as an incubator for sustainability research, consulting, and community organizing, and curate materials generated by these efforts
  • Facilitate place-based education and online connections between bioregionally focused organizations around the world, building on the distinctive bioregional approach to distance learning developed at GMC and now carried on through Prescott College’s graduate programs

Why a Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College?

Written by Laird Christensen, Director of the Green Mountain Center for Sustainability

Dr. Laird Christensen

In August 2019 the Prescott College community welcomed more than 150 students, faculty, and staff from Green Mountain College in Poultney, Vermont. Those of us who made the long trek from the leafy Taconic Mountains are grateful for the reception we’ve received here in the piney Central Highlands of Arizona, and we’re pleased to help create a nurturing space for both current Prescott students and Green Mountain College alumni—online and on campus, in the Sustainability Lounge of Cicada Hall.

With its long tradition of environmental education and emphasis on social justice, Prescott College is a natural place to carry on the work of Green Mountain College. Courses of study for undergraduates include adventure education, sustainable community development, environmental studies, and social justice and community organizing. The graduate programs already at Prescott, such as a PhD in Sustainability Education, are now bolstered by successful MS programs from Green Mountain College, such as sustainable food systems, environmental studies, and resilient and sustainable communities.

So what exactly is the role of the Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College? Besides the basic work of supporting students and alumni, and building a sense of community on campus and beyond, the Green Mountain Center will continue to provide leadership, locally and nationally, in promoting an approach to education based on finding solutions to the problems that arise from cultural systems and practices that are simply not sustainable. In one form or another, it’s the essential work of our time.

Sustainability Leadership at GMC

Founded in 1834 at the Troy Conference Academy, Green Mountain College went through a number of transformations before finally adopting an environmental liberal arts mission in 1996. The idea was that the general education courses that made up a third of a student’s courses--history, science, English, and all the other fields you might expect from a liberal arts education--would be taught in ways that reflect on interactions between humans and their environments. Not surprisingly, it took awhile for the culture to catch up with the college’s aspirations.

When I began teaching at GMC in 2000, the environmental mission was very much in the process of redefining the institution. Some students still came to be close to ski resorts at Killington and Stratton Mountain, while others were drawn by the beauty of the countryside or distinctive majors such as Therapeutic Recreation. In 2002 the intellectual atmosphere on campus was shaken up in the best of ways by the arrival of dozens of students from Goddard College, a famously progressive institution which was forced to close its residential undergraduate programs. 

By 2005 many students were coming specifically for the school’s environmental reputation, and respected scholars from around the country sought out positions on the faculty. We began offering sustainability-themed graduate programs in 2006, but it was our students who led the way as we installed a locally-sourced biomass plant for heating and energy, and convinced our Board of Trustees to divest from companies profiting from fossil fuels. We were on the right path. Residential enrollment grew to its highest point right up until the Great Recession in the 2007-08 academic year, and enrollment continued to grow in graduate programs until the very end. 

Green Mountain College cemented its position as a national leader in educating for sustainability over the last decade: our rural campus became carbon neutral in 2011 and we were consistently in the top ten of Sierra Club’s “Coolest schools” (including #1 in 2010 and 2018). Our curriculum was ranked at the very top by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) in the college’s last two years, receiving the highest scores ever awarded. 

However, none of that was enough to prevent its closure in June of 2019, after 185 years anchoring the Main Street of Poultney.

Becoming Part of Prescott College

The irony is lost on no one that the nation’s leader in sustainability education proved unable to survive. In fact, to judge from the comments in the Wall Street Journal, some readers concluded that it was the very model of educating for sustainability that was to blame for the college closing. In fact, the number of colleges featuring sustainability in their curriculum has multiplied from just a handful in 2006 to over 400 today, including Cornell University, Bard College, Emory University, and state universities across the country. 

No, Green Mountain College was done in by a combination of factors. Undergraduate enrollment began to drop off during the Great Recession, when many parents and students felt they could no longer afford tuition at a private liberal arts college. This was followed by a demographic slump that led to a ten-year decline in first-time student enrollments, hitting Northeastern colleges much harder than other parts of the country. 

The lessons we learned along the way, however, are more important than ever. Like our colleagues here at Prescott College, we recognize the need for an approach to higher education based on finding solutions to “wicked problems”—those that resist simple solutions—in the age of climate crisis and growing economic disparity. 

We are excited to spread the seeds of sustainability, both through projects here in Prescott and as far as we can through the reach of the internet. Below are a few goals of the Green Mountain Center for Sustainability that we are especially excited about:

  • Here on campus we have created the Sustainability Lounge to help GMC transfer students adjust to a very different environment, building a sense of community and an emphasis on social sustainability in collaboration with other student groups.
  • We are working with students through clubs, classes, and work-study opportunities to improve energy efficiency and waste reduction: current projects include campus-wide composting, education around waste sorting, and even a Free Store in the Susty Lounge.
  • We are celebrating alumni and creating mentoring networks that serve undergraduates, graduate students, and alumni; we welcome your participation and ideas about how to make these processes most effective.
  • We have begun work on creating a clearinghouse of resources built on our bioregional approach to distance education, allowing students and professionals to use GIS technology to link to local organizations, agencies, and opportunities with a click on a map.

And that’s just a start. Yes, we still feel the loss of our home in Vermont, but it makes things so much easier when we look around Prescott College and see so many familiar faces from GMC: people like Mark Dailey and Eleanor Tison, Robin Currey, Christina Fabrey, and Bill Prado—not to mention close to 100 undergraduates (at least some of whom seem to be in the Crossroads Cafe every time I stop by). Others, such as Meriel Brooks, Bill Throop, and Chris Brooks continue to teach online and join us on campus for occasional residencies.

We are honored to help carry on the legacy of Green Mountain College here--but I’ve come to realize that all of us are engaged in the same good work, wherever we are, whenever we share something promising from the lives we learned to live at the end of Main Street in Poultney, Vermont.

Green Mountain College Campus, Poultney, VT 2018

A heartfelt welcome to all of our alumni!

If you’ve ever seen the movie, Dead Poets Society, you may remember the scene where the teacher, played by Robin Williams, leads his class out to look at a display of group photographs taken of students a century earlier. In the film, as the students look on, the camera slowly zooms in on the faces in those old black-and-white photos.

“They’re not that different from you, are they?” Williams asks. Indeed, it’s not so hard to imagine more recent versions of those same faces sitting beside us in Withey Hall—maybe pierced and a little shaggier, though, dressed in Carhartts and Phish shirts.

They’re “food for worms, “ Williams, “fertilizer for daffodils.” The lesson, of course, is carpe diem: our lives are fleeting, so we’d best make the most of them.

It’s a lesson we may have learned in many ways, whether as the Second Law of Thermodynamics or through the compost we helped spread on the fields of Cerridwen Farm.

But like that compost—an analogy that’s more likely to play to this crowd than others—there’s no doubt we’re going to continue to do good work, to enrich our environments, even after we’re done with these bodies. Because the lessons we learned through our own quirky brand of education are too big to keep to ourselves.

We’ve seen those lessons ripple out from the lives you have chosen, whether your choices led you to the statehouse or the classroom, the farm or the front lines of direct action. And then there are your subtler influences, the difference you’ve made in the lives of your children, friends, or even strangers who notice an act of kindness from you, a willingness to help out, a thoughtfulness about the consequences of your actions. You’ve made us proud.

Let’s keep those ripples spreading.

One way to continue the legacy of Green Mountain College is to help you pass along all that you've learned, both from your education and life experiences. An essential element of the Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College is to create opportunities for our alumni to serve as mentors for our undergraduates and graduate students. At this point, we're looking at a variety of other systems to serve alumni and current students, and we’d love to hear any suggestions you might have.

But we're also interested in creating professional networking opportunities that will serve all of you: after all, there are thousands of you out there making a difference in the world. We’d love to help put you in touch, whether through online resources or regional gatherings. If you’re active in one of the GMC alumni groups, we’d love to help support those communities, too! We’re building an interactive North American map that will allow people to zoom in and identify resources in their own communities, and it will be easy enough to add a layer of alumni data. Please take a minute to complete a short form that will help us build these connections. In one way or another we’d love to hear from you!

Best wishes from Prescott, and lux fiat!

Sustainability Spotlight: 
Melissa Markstrom '09 GMC
 

Written by Madeline Hughey

While halfway around the world, working with the Masai in Kenya on an EcoLeague exchange with Prescott College, Melissa Markstrom found herself learning lessons that would shape her future work in unexpected ways. 

Melissa Markstrom

“I learned that righteous, next-level, community-led transformation starts by going directly to the source and asking people for their stories,” she said, “letting people tell you what they need, trusting people to know how to obtain it, and standing in solidarity with them. I learned the value of sharing my own resources, privilege, caring, listening, and desired support.”

A 2009 graduate of Green Mountain College, Melissa is a first-generation college graduate from Phoenix, Arizona. She spent 2008 at Prescott College, where she studied Community- Based Activism in Kenya, as well as a course in U.S.-Mexico Border Studies. She currently works as a union organizer helping health-care workers achieve “fairness, equity and justice on the job, in their communities, and at a state and national level.” She also volunteers providing women and gender-queer labor leaders and activists with skill-building opportunities.

 Students working with the Maasai Education Center in Kenya
Prescott College has been sending students to Kenya to work with the Maasai Education, Research and Conservation Institute since 2008. Photo credit: Jarvie Photography.

Melissa considers her two international courses essential to teaching her to approach activism from a community perspective. Her U.S.-Mexico Border Studies class showed her how communities intertwine with their natural environments. She also learned that solutions to complex societal and environmental problems have to be led by individuals in that community. 

Her education at both GMC and Prescott encouraged her “to think about sustainability by rooting our learning in systems and community-based thinking,” Melissa said, and “to analyze my own values and philosophies, and to take action towards social, economic, political and environmental justice.” Melissa believes education should prepare us to be engaged citizens of our communities, whether in our jobs, “our political systems, our lifestyles, or the values and skills we pass on to future generations.”

For Melissa, justice goes hand in hand with sustainability. They both influence her current work training and supporting community leaders to break out of the more individualistic mindsets and competitive interactions encouraged in our society. She trains people to pay attention to each other and collaborate more fully, ensuring processes that are fair and equitable as the members collectively reach decisions and communicate their intentions.

Melissa has found that working towards sustainability requires hope, curiosity, and a willingness to take action. 

“We have to be willing to meet people where they're at. We have to be willing to use humor, and joy and ideas to inspire future activists to take our place, in order to make the activism itself sustainable,” Melissa said. “We have to be willing to invite the whole community, especially those who think differently than we do, to sit with us and participate in dialogue about how to re-orient towards sustainable communities and environments.”