綠山可持續發展中心 Prescott College

綠山中心
綠山可持續發展中心 Prescott College 通過開發實用的解決方案來提高社區可持續性,從而促進學習,從而為學生,校友,教職員工,當地居民和在線觀眾提供服務。 該中心將綠山學院屢獲殊榮的可持續性教育方法與 Prescott College在環境研究和社會正義領域擁有豐富的領導歷史。 該中心通過活動和計劃建立學習社區,促進利益相關者之間的聯繫並共享資源,從而培養了創建更公正和可持續發展的社會所需的技能和知識。

我們的目標包括:

  • 在社區上建立豐富的社區意識 Prescott College 綠山學院和大學的學生,教職員工,社區成員和校友的校園 Prescott College
  • 通過居住和在線活動繼續在可持續發展教育方面保持國家領導地位,並建立在線存在,以表彰GMC的學生,教職員工和校友所做的工作 Prescott College
  • 鼓勵和支持基於項目的課程,獨立研究,高級項目和基於發現不可持續做法的替代方法的課外活動,使用 Prescott College 校園及其周邊地區,作為基於解決方案的學習的實驗室
  • 充當孵化器的角色,進行可持續性研究,諮詢和社區組織,並整理這些工作產生的材料
  • 在GMC制定的獨特的生物區域遠程學習方法的基礎上,促進全球以生物區域為中心的組織之間的基於地點的教育和在線聯繫 Prescott College的研究生課程

為什麼選擇位於格林山的可持續發展中心 Prescott College?

由綠山可持續發展中心主任Laird Christensen撰寫

萊爾德克里斯滕森

在8月的2019中 Prescott College 社區歡迎來自佛蒙特州Poultney的Green Mountain College的150名學生,教職員工。 我們當中那些從茂密的塔科尼奇山脈(Taconic Mountains)進行了漫長跋涉的人,非常感謝我們在亞利桑那州的松樹中央高原上收到的招待,我們很高興為普雷斯科特(Prescott)當前的學生和格林山(Green Mountain)營造一個養育的空間在線和校園內的大學校友,位於Cicada Hall的Sustainability Lounge。

憑藉悠久的環境教育傳統和對社會公正的重視, Prescott College 是進行綠山學院工作的自然之所。 針對本科生的學習課程包括冒險教育,社區可持續發展,環境研究以及社會正義和社區組織。 早在Prescott的研究生課程,例如可持續發展教育博士學位,現在得到了綠山學院成功的MS課程的大力支持,例如可持續食品系統,環境研究以及具有韌性和可持續性的社區。

那麼,綠山可持續發展中心的作用到底是什麼 Prescott College? 除了支持學生和校友的基本工作,並在校園內外建立社區意識外,綠色山峰中心將繼續在本地和全國范圍內發揮領導作用,在尋找解決問題的方法的基礎上促進教育方法來自根本不可持續的文化體系和實踐。 無論哪種形式,這都是我們時代的基本工作。

GMC的可持續發展領導力

綠山學院(Green Mountain College)成立於特洛伊會議學院(Troy Conference Academy)的1834,經歷了多次轉型,最終在1996中採用了環境文科藝術使命。 當時的想法是,通識教育課程應構成學生課程的三分之一,包括歷史,科學,英語以及您可能期望從文科教育獲得的所有其他領域,並且應通過反映兩者之間相互作用的方式來教授人類及其環境。 毫不奇怪,該文化花了一段時間才趕上了大學的志向。

當我開始在2000的GMC任教時,環境使命正在重新定義機構。 一些學生仍然靠近基靈頓和斯特拉頓山的滑雪勝地,而其他學生則受到鄉村之美或獨特的專業(如治療娛樂)的吸引。 在2002中,數十名來自著名的先進院校Goddard College的學生的到來,以最好的方式動搖了校園的學術氛圍,這被迫關閉了其住宅本科課程。

到2005為止,許多學生都是專門為學校的環境聲譽而來的,來自全國各地的受人尊敬的學者都在該學院尋找職位。 我們開始在2006中提供以可持續性為主題的研究生課程,但是在我們安裝了本地供熱和能源的生物質工廠的過程中,正是由我們的學生帶頭了,並說服董事會放棄了從化石燃料中獲利的公司。 我們走在正確的道路上。 直到2007-08學年的大衰退之前,住宅入學人數一直增長到最高點,研究生課程的入學人數一直持續增長,直到最後。

過去十年中,綠山學院鞏固了其在可持續發展教育方面的國家領導者的地位:我們的鄉村校園在2011中實現了碳中和,並且一直保持著Sierra俱樂部“最酷的學校”的前十名(包括1和2010中的#2018) )。 在過去的兩年中,我們的課程在高等教育可持續發展協會(AASHE)中排名最高,獲得了有史以來最高的分數。

但是,這還不足以阻止2019在錨定Poultney大街後的185年6月關閉。

成為一部分 Prescott College

具有諷刺意味的是,沒有哪個國家的可持續發展教育領袖證明無法生存。 其實從 中的評論 “華爾街日報”,一些讀者得出的結論是,為可持續發展而進行的教育的典範應該歸咎於大學關閉。 實際上,課程中具有可持續性的大學數量已經從2006中的極少數增加到今天的400以上,包括康奈爾大學,巴德學院,埃默里大學和全國各地的州立大學。

不,綠山學院是結合多種因素完成的。 大蕭條期間,本科生的入學率開始下降,當時許多父母和學生覺得他們再也負擔不起私立文科學院的學費。 其次是人口的不景氣,導致首次入學的學生人數連續十年下降,對東北大學的打擊要比美國其他地區嚴重得多。

但是,我們在此過程中吸取的教訓比以往任何時候都更為重要。 就像我們在這裡的同事一樣 Prescott College,我們認識到,在氣候危機和經濟差距日益擴大的時代,需要找到一種針對“邪惡問題”(那些拒絕簡單解決方案的解決方案)解決方案的高等教育方法。

我們很高興通過普雷斯科特(Prescott)的項目以及通過互聯網的影響力傳播可持續性的種子。 以下是我們特別興奮的綠山可持續發展中心的一些目標:

  • 在校園裡,我們創建了可持續發展休息室,以幫助GMC轉移學生適應非常不同的環境,與其他學生團體合作,建立社區意識並強調社會可持續性。
  • 我們正在通過俱樂部,班級和工作學習機會與學生合作,以提高能源效率和減少廢物:當前的項目包括校園範圍內的堆肥,廢物分類教育,甚至還有Susty Lounge的免費商店。
  • 我們正在慶祝校友,並創建為大學生,研究生和校友服務的指導網絡; 我們 歡迎您的參與 以及有關如何使這些流程最有效的想法。
  • 我們已經開始著手建立基於我們的生物區域遠程教育資源交換所的工作,允許學生和專業人員使用GIS技術通過單擊地圖來鏈接到本地組織,機構和機會。

這僅僅是一個開始。 是的,我們仍然感到失去了佛蒙特州的房屋,但是當我們環顧四周時,事情變得如此簡單 Prescott College 看到了GMC這麼多熟悉的面孔:馬克·戴利(Mark Dailey)和埃莉諾·蒂森(Eleanor Tison),羅賓·柯里(Robin Currey),克里斯蒂娜·法布里(Christina Fabrey)和比爾·普拉多(Bill Prado)等人-更不用說接近100的本科生了(至少每次我中有些人似乎都在Crossroads Cafe中停下來)。 其他人,例如Meriel Brooks,Bill Throop和Chris Brooks繼續在線教學,並偶爾在校園裡加入我們。

我們很榮幸能在這裡繼續傳承綠山學院的遺產-但我已經意識到,無論我們身在何處,只要我們分享從中學到的生活中獲得的一些有希望的東西,我們所有人都會從事同樣的出色工作住在佛蒙特州Poultney大街的盡頭。

VT 2018,波德尼,綠山學院校園

衷心歡迎我們所有的校友!

如果您看過電影《死亡詩社》,您可能會記得 現場 羅賓·威廉姆斯(Robin Williams)扮演的老師帶領他的班級去觀看一個世紀前為學生拍攝的集體照。 在影片中,隨著學生的注視,相機會慢慢放大那些舊的黑白照片中的面部。

“他們和你沒什麼不同,對嗎?”威廉姆斯問。 確實,不難想像,在威西大廳裡坐在我們旁邊的這些相同面孔的最新版本-可能會被刺穿,而且有些笨拙,穿著Carhartts和Phish襯衫。

它們是“蠕蟲的食物”,威廉姆斯,“水仙花的肥料”。當然,這是腕章,因為我們的生活瞬息萬變,所以我們最好充分利用它們。

無論是作為熱力學第二定律還是通過堆肥,我們都可以從許多方面學到這一課,我們幫助它們在賽里德文農場傳播。

但是像堆肥一樣(比起其他人更像是這種人群),毫無疑問,即使我們已經處理完這些屍體,我們仍將繼續做好工作,豐富我們的環境。 因為我們通過自己的古怪的教育品牌學到的教訓太大了,無法保留給自己。

我們已經看到了這些教訓,從您選擇的生活中汲取了教訓,無論您的選擇將您帶到州議會大廈,教室,農場還是直接行動的前線。 然後是您的微妙影響,您在孩子,朋友甚至陌生人的生活中所發生的變化,這些變化注意到您的善意舉止,樂於助人的意願以及對行為後果的體貼。 你讓我們感到驕傲。

讓我們繼續蔓延。

延續綠山學院遺產的一種方法是幫助您傳承從教育和生活經歷中學到的所有知識。 綠山可持續發展中心位於 Prescott College 為我們的校友創造機會,為我們的本科生和研究生提供指導。 在這一點上,我們正​​在考慮為校友和在校學生提供服務的各種其他系統,我們很樂意聽到您的任何建議。

但是,我們也有興趣創造能夠為所有人服務的專業網絡機會:畢竟,有成千上萬的人在改變世界。 無論是通過在線資源還是區域聚會,我們都樂意與您保持聯繫。 如果您活躍於GMC校友小組之一,我們也很樂意為這些社區提供支持! 我們正在構建一個互動式北美地圖,該地圖將使人們可以放大並識別自己社區中的資源,並且添加一層校友數據也將非常容易。 請花一點時間 填寫簡短表格 這將幫助我們建立這些聯繫。 我們希望以某種方式收到您的來信!

普雷斯科特(Prescott)和勒克斯(Fiat)的良好祝愿!

松鼠
新改組的26th年10月 松鼠 一起參加了他們的第一次比賽。 今年7月,一支偉大的球隊贊助了在Poultney舉辦的Hat Tournament比賽,然後在10月初出現了更為隨意的便餐和“接送日”, 松鼠 許多世代都有他們第一次一起飛行的機會。 從團隊成立(1999年)到最後的畢業班,我們都有一些成員,但我們還有一些新成員,他們在尋找一群有趣而友善的裝扮得當的同伴,與他們在美麗的陽光明媚的佛蒙特州星期六聚在一起。 佛蒙特州法律贊助的“自製啤酒比賽”提供了一些有趣的比賽,並且經典 松鼠 風格,我們打得很努力,得分很高,雖然大部分比賽都結束了,但當天仍然沒有勝利。 也許我們沒有達到應有的發展水平,也許有些老骨頭和吱吱作響的關節使我們放慢了腳步,也許我們只是取樂於代替認真對待而已,但在此過程中我們汲取了很多寶貴的經驗教訓和建立了聯繫天。 我們將看到這個冬天有什麼機會,但在我看來,明年春天 松鼠 他們將準備好從舒適的冬季巢穴中脫穎而出,奔跑,跳躍並有望趕上田野。

可持續發展聚焦:
Melissa Markstrom'09 GMC

由Madeline Hughey撰寫

在世界各地途中,與肯尼亞的Masai合作,與 Prescott College,梅利莎·馬克斯特倫(Melissa Markstrom)發現自己正在學習課程,從而以意想不到的方式塑造了她未來的工作。

梅麗莎·馬克斯特倫(Melissa Markstrom)

她說:“我了解到,由社區領導的正義的下一個轉變是直接進入源頭並向人們詢問故事,這讓人們告訴您他們需要什麼,讓人們知道如何獲得它,並與他們站在一起。 我學會了共享自己的資源,特權,關懷,傾聽和期望的支持的價值。”

Melissa是綠山學院的2009畢業生,是亞利桑那州鳳凰城的第一代大學畢業生。 她在花費了2008 Prescott College她在肯尼亞學習了基於社區的行動主義,並在美國墨西哥邊境研究課程中學習了該課程。 她目前是工會的組織者,幫助衛生保健工作者“在工作中,在社區中以及在州和國家一級實現工作中的公平,公正和正義。”她還自願為婦女和性別偏激的勞工領袖和活動家提供服務。技能培養機會。

在肯尼亞馬賽教育中心工作的學生
Prescott College 自2008以來,一直將學生派往肯尼亞與馬賽教育,研究與保護研究所合作。 圖片來源:Jarvie Photography。

梅利莎(Melissa)認為她的兩門國際課程對於從社區的角度教會她採取行動至關重要。 她的美墨邊境研究班向她展示了社區如何與自然環境交織在一起。 她還了解到,解決複雜的社會和環境問題必須由該社區中的個人來領導。

梅利莎說,她在GMC和Prescott接受的教育鼓勵她“通過將我們的學習植根於系統和基於社區的思想中來思考可持續性,並”分析我自己的價值觀和哲學,並採取行動應對社會,經濟,政治梅利莎(Melissa)認為,教育應該使我們做好準備成為社區的公民,無論是在我們的工作中,“我們的政治制度,我們的生活方式,還是我們傳給子孫後代的價值觀和技能”。

對於梅利莎(Melissa)而言,正義與可持續發展息息相關。 他們都影響了她目前的工作培訓,並支持社區領導者擺脫我們社會鼓勵的更具個人主義思想和競爭性互動。 她訓練人們相互注意和更充分地合作,確保當成員集體達成決策並傳達其意圖時,過程是公平公正的。

梅利莎(Melissa)發現,為實現可持續發展而努力需要有希望,好奇心和採取行動的意願。

“我們必須願意見到他們所在的人。 我們必須樂於用幽默,喜悅和思想激發未來的激進主義者取代我們,以使激進主義本身能夠持續發展。”梅利莎說。 “我們必須願意邀請整個社區,尤其是那些與我們有不同想法的人們坐在一起,並參與有關如何重新定位於可持續社區和環境的對話。”

Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College

Green Mountain Center
The Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College serves students, alumni, staff, local citizens, and an online audience by promoting learning through the development of practical solutions for increasing community sustainability. The Center integrates Green Mountain College’s award-winning approach to sustainability education with Prescott College’s rich history of leadership in environmental studies and social justice. By building learning communities through events and programs, facilitating connections among stakeholders, and sharing resources, the center cultivates the skills and knowledge needed to create a more just and sustainable society.
 

Our goals include the following:

  • Create a rich sense of community on the Prescott College campus for students, staff, community members, and alumni from both Green Mountain College and Prescott College
  • Continue national leadership in sustainability education through residential and online activities, and create an online presence that celebrates the work done by students, faculty, and alumni of GMC and Prescott College
  • Encourage and support project-based courses, independent studies, senior projects, and co-curricular activities based on finding alternatives to unsustainable practices, using the Prescott College campus and its surrounding region as a laboratory for solutions-based learning
  • Serve as an incubator for sustainability research, consulting, and community organizing, and curate materials generated by these efforts
  • Facilitate place-based education and online connections between bioregionally focused organizations around the world, building on the distinctive bioregional approach to distance learning developed at GMC and now carried on through Prescott College’s graduate programs

Why a Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College?

Written by Laird Christensen, Director of the Green Mountain Center for Sustainability

Dr. Laird Christensen

In August 2019 the Prescott College community welcomed more than 150 students, faculty, and staff from Green Mountain College in Poultney, Vermont. Those of us who made the long trek from the leafy Taconic Mountains are grateful for the reception we’ve received here in the piney Central Highlands of Arizona, and we’re pleased to help create a nurturing space for both current Prescott students and Green Mountain College alumni—online and on campus, in the Sustainability Lounge of Cicada Hall.

With its long tradition of environmental education and emphasis on social justice, Prescott College is a natural place to carry on the work of Green Mountain College. Courses of study for undergraduates include adventure education, sustainable community development, environmental studies, and social justice and community organizing. The graduate programs already at Prescott, such as a PhD in Sustainability Education, are now bolstered by successful MS programs from Green Mountain College, such as sustainable food systems, environmental studies, and resilient and sustainable communities.

So what exactly is the role of the Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College? Besides the basic work of supporting students and alumni, and building a sense of community on campus and beyond, the Green Mountain Center will continue to provide leadership, locally and nationally, in promoting an approach to education based on finding solutions to the problems that arise from cultural systems and practices that are simply not sustainable. In one form or another, it’s the essential work of our time.

Sustainability Leadership at GMC

Founded in 1834 at the Troy Conference Academy, Green Mountain College went through a number of transformations before finally adopting an environmental liberal arts mission in 1996. The idea was that the general education courses that made up a third of a student’s courses--history, science, English, and all the other fields you might expect from a liberal arts education--would be taught in ways that reflect on interactions between humans and their environments. Not surprisingly, it took awhile for the culture to catch up with the college’s aspirations.

When I began teaching at GMC in 2000, the environmental mission was very much in the process of redefining the institution. Some students still came to be close to ski resorts at Killington and Stratton Mountain, while others were drawn by the beauty of the countryside or distinctive majors such as Therapeutic Recreation. In 2002 the intellectual atmosphere on campus was shaken up in the best of ways by the arrival of dozens of students from Goddard College, a famously progressive institution which was forced to close its residential undergraduate programs. 

By 2005 many students were coming specifically for the school’s environmental reputation, and respected scholars from around the country sought out positions on the faculty. We began offering sustainability-themed graduate programs in 2006, but it was our students who led the way as we installed a locally-sourced biomass plant for heating and energy, and convinced our Board of Trustees to divest from companies profiting from fossil fuels. We were on the right path. Residential enrollment grew to its highest point right up until the Great Recession in the 2007-08 academic year, and enrollment continued to grow in graduate programs until the very end. 

Green Mountain College cemented its position as a national leader in educating for sustainability over the last decade: our rural campus became carbon neutral in 2011 and we were consistently in the top ten of Sierra Club’s “Coolest schools” (including #1 in 2010 and 2018). Our curriculum was ranked at the very top by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) in the college’s last two years, receiving the highest scores ever awarded. 

However, none of that was enough to prevent its closure in June of 2019, after 185 years anchoring the Main Street of Poultney.

Becoming Part of Prescott College

The irony is lost on no one that the nation’s leader in sustainability education proved unable to survive. In fact, to judge from the comments in the Wall Street Journal, some readers concluded that it was the very model of educating for sustainability that was to blame for the college closing. In fact, the number of colleges featuring sustainability in their curriculum has multiplied from just a handful in 2006 to over 400 today, including Cornell University, Bard College, Emory University, and state universities across the country. 

No, Green Mountain College was done in by a combination of factors. Undergraduate enrollment began to drop off during the Great Recession, when many parents and students felt they could no longer afford tuition at a private liberal arts college. This was followed by a demographic slump that led to a ten-year decline in first-time student enrollments, hitting Northeastern colleges much harder than other parts of the country. 

The lessons we learned along the way, however, are more important than ever. Like our colleagues here at Prescott College, we recognize the need for an approach to higher education based on finding solutions to “wicked problems”—those that resist simple solutions—in the age of climate crisis and growing economic disparity. 

We are excited to spread the seeds of sustainability, both through projects here in Prescott and as far as we can through the reach of the internet. Below are a few goals of the Green Mountain Center for Sustainability that we are especially excited about:

  • Here on campus we have created the Sustainability Lounge to help GMC transfer students adjust to a very different environment, building a sense of community and an emphasis on social sustainability in collaboration with other student groups.
  • We are working with students through clubs, classes, and work-study opportunities to improve energy efficiency and waste reduction: current projects include campus-wide composting, education around waste sorting, and even a Free Store in the Susty Lounge.
  • We are celebrating alumni and creating mentoring networks that serve undergraduates, graduate students, and alumni; we welcome your participation and ideas about how to make these processes most effective.
  • We have begun work on creating a clearinghouse of resources built on our bioregional approach to distance education, allowing students and professionals to use GIS technology to link to local organizations, agencies, and opportunities with a click on a map.

And that’s just a start. Yes, we still feel the loss of our home in Vermont, but it makes things so much easier when we look around Prescott College and see so many familiar faces from GMC: people like Mark Dailey and Eleanor Tison, Robin Currey, Christina Fabrey, and Bill Prado—not to mention close to 100 undergraduates (at least some of whom seem to be in the Crossroads Cafe every time I stop by). Others, such as Meriel Brooks, Bill Throop, and Chris Brooks continue to teach online and join us on campus for occasional residencies.

We are honored to help carry on the legacy of Green Mountain College here--but I’ve come to realize that all of us are engaged in the same good work, wherever we are, whenever we share something promising from the lives we learned to live at the end of Main Street in Poultney, Vermont.

Green Mountain College Campus, Poultney, VT 2018

A heartfelt welcome to all of our alumni!

If you’ve ever seen the movie, Dead Poets Society, you may remember the scene where the teacher, played by Robin Williams, leads his class out to look at a display of group photographs taken of students a century earlier. In the film, as the students look on, the camera slowly zooms in on the faces in those old black-and-white photos.

“They’re not that different from you, are they?” Williams asks. Indeed, it’s not so hard to imagine more recent versions of those same faces sitting beside us in Withey Hall—maybe pierced and a little shaggier, though, dressed in Carhartts and Phish shirts.

They’re “food for worms, “ Williams, “fertilizer for daffodils.” The lesson, of course, is carpe diem: our lives are fleeting, so we’d best make the most of them.

It’s a lesson we may have learned in many ways, whether as the Second Law of Thermodynamics or through the compost we helped spread on the fields of Cerridwen Farm.

But like that compost—an analogy that’s more likely to play to this crowd than others—there’s no doubt we’re going to continue to do good work, to enrich our environments, even after we’re done with these bodies. Because the lessons we learned through our own quirky brand of education are too big to keep to ourselves.

We’ve seen those lessons ripple out from the lives you have chosen, whether your choices led you to the statehouse or the classroom, the farm or the front lines of direct action. And then there are your subtler influences, the difference you’ve made in the lives of your children, friends, or even strangers who notice an act of kindness from you, a willingness to help out, a thoughtfulness about the consequences of your actions. You’ve made us proud.

Let’s keep those ripples spreading.

One way to continue the legacy of Green Mountain College is to help you pass along all that you've learned, both from your education and life experiences. An essential element of the Green Mountain Center for Sustainability at Prescott College is to create opportunities for our alumni to serve as mentors for our undergraduates and graduate students. At this point, we're looking at a variety of other systems to serve alumni and current students, and we’d love to hear any suggestions you might have.

But we're also interested in creating professional networking opportunities that will serve all of you: after all, there are thousands of you out there making a difference in the world. We’d love to help put you in touch, whether through online resources or regional gatherings. If you’re active in one of the GMC alumni groups, we’d love to help support those communities, too! We’re building an interactive North American map that will allow people to zoom in and identify resources in their own communities, and it will be easy enough to add a layer of alumni data. Please take a minute to complete a short form that will help us build these connections. In one way or another we’d love to hear from you!

Best wishes from Prescott, and lux fiat!

Sustainability Spotlight: 
Melissa Markstrom '09 GMC
 

Written by Madeline Hughey

While halfway around the world, working with the Masai in Kenya on an EcoLeague exchange with Prescott College, Melissa Markstrom found herself learning lessons that would shape her future work in unexpected ways. 

Melissa Markstrom

“I learned that righteous, next-level, community-led transformation starts by going directly to the source and asking people for their stories,” she said, “letting people tell you what they need, trusting people to know how to obtain it, and standing in solidarity with them. I learned the value of sharing my own resources, privilege, caring, listening, and desired support.”

A 2009 graduate of Green Mountain College, Melissa is a first-generation college graduate from Phoenix, Arizona. She spent 2008 at Prescott College, where she studied Community- Based Activism in Kenya, as well as a course in U.S.-Mexico Border Studies. She currently works as a union organizer helping health-care workers achieve “fairness, equity and justice on the job, in their communities, and at a state and national level.” She also volunteers providing women and gender-queer labor leaders and activists with skill-building opportunities.

 Students working with the Maasai Education Center in Kenya
Prescott College has been sending students to Kenya to work with the Maasai Education, Research and Conservation Institute since 2008. Photo credit: Jarvie Photography.

Melissa considers her two international courses essential to teaching her to approach activism from a community perspective. Her U.S.-Mexico Border Studies class showed her how communities intertwine with their natural environments. She also learned that solutions to complex societal and environmental problems have to be led by individuals in that community. 

Her education at both GMC and Prescott encouraged her “to think about sustainability by rooting our learning in systems and community-based thinking,” Melissa said, and “to analyze my own values and philosophies, and to take action towards social, economic, political and environmental justice.” Melissa believes education should prepare us to be engaged citizens of our communities, whether in our jobs, “our political systems, our lifestyles, or the values and skills we pass on to future generations.”

For Melissa, justice goes hand in hand with sustainability. They both influence her current work training and supporting community leaders to break out of the more individualistic mindsets and competitive interactions encouraged in our society. She trains people to pay attention to each other and collaborate more fully, ensuring processes that are fair and equitable as the members collectively reach decisions and communicate their intentions.

Melissa has found that working towards sustainability requires hope, curiosity, and a willingness to take action. 

“We have to be willing to meet people where they're at. We have to be willing to use humor, and joy and ideas to inspire future activists to take our place, in order to make the activism itself sustainable,” Melissa said. “We have to be willing to invite the whole community, especially those who think differently than we do, to sit with us and participate in dialogue about how to re-orient towards sustainable communities and environments.”