可持續食品系統(MS)

簽名課程
糧食系統生物多樣性:可持續飲食
農業生態系統理論與實踐
社會價值觀和價值鏈:農場可持續發展
地方,可持續發展和飲食:生態營養
食品正義與可持續食品系統
組織變革與可持續發展領導力
糧食系統生物多樣性:市場中的保護
糧食與農業:先行政策

獲得可持續食品系統(MSFS)的理學碩士學位 Prescott College 通過幫助人們重建(建立)健康,公正和可持續的糧食系統,支持加強社區及其成員。 在當今復雜的食品,營養和農業系統的世界中,我們需要對驅動食品系統的經濟,生態和社會力量有深入了解的領導者。 我們的可持續食品系統科學碩士課程為您提供對可持續農業和飲食的跨學科綜合理解的準備。

Your course assignments  have you applying the skills and knowledge you acquire and engaging with one another and your instructors in asynchronous discussions. Discussions and course assignments are intended to be tailored to your specific area of interest in food systems and your bioregion providing you with the opportunity to also learn about your peers’ bioregions and food systems interests.  

我們的計劃提供三個不同重點領域的可選集中: 

可持續飲食和生物多樣性: This concentration is designed for students who work in nutrition, culinary nutrition, public health, and other sustainable food system fields where knowledge about diverse diets with low environmental impacts can play an important role in ensuring food and nutrition security.  Students concentrating in Sustainable Diets and Biodiversity will take nine credits of context courses. Assignments in all courses and the capstone are tailored by students to ensure that food and nutrition security, health and wellbeing will be at the forefront when considering one’s food system. The concentration challenges students to understand dietary diversity as an ecosystem service, nutrition-sensitive agricultural value chains and how to build resilience into fragile and fleeting diet and knowledge systems. 

食物正義:此專注於那些尋求將全球工業食品系統轉向更公平,公正和可持續的食品系統的學生。 可以通過社區獲得健康食品(食物獲取)的能力以及定義自己的食物系統(食物主權)的權利來衡量食品的正義性。 專注於食品正義的學生將獲得九個學分的背景課程。 學生還應該在所有課程中定制他們的作業,以確保他們加深對機構種族主義和階級主義如何阻止某些社區獲取健康和文化上適宜的食物的理解,從而可以開發可持續的食物系統解決方案。 

食品企業家精神:此專注於那些通過自營職業或其他企業家努力影響糧食系統變化的學生,他們正在尋求有關企業如何在確保食品和營養安全方面發揮重要作用的知識。 專注於食品創業的學生將獲得九個學分的語境課程。 學生還應該在所有課程中定制他們的作業,以確保他們加深對如何通過作為變革推動者的社會和環境表現來提高組織成功的理解,以及提高他們構建可持續性組織戰略的能力。
 

在處理營養和糧食安全等問題時 - 我們必須做對。 該 Prescott College 可持續食品系統計劃旨在從生態,營養,人類學和財務角度了解最重要的食品。  Robin Currey博士,可持續食品系統項目主任  

我們認識到,致力於改變食物系統的人們往往紮根於此,MSFS計劃允許學生繼續致力於他們的社區和專業。 學生們不僅要探索自己的生物區域食物,還要將他們的發現與來自美國和國外其他地區的學生進行對比,增強他們對食物系統動態的理解,並利用變化點。

  • 生物區域方法:“ Prescott College 碩士學位課程結合了最好的在線學習和強化的本地應用經驗。 我們稱之為遠程教育的生物區域方法。 學生不是僅僅通過教科書中的例子來學習食物系統,而是使用他們當地的食物作為實驗室來試驗新的概念和技能。
  • 領導班子:我們的教師擁有深入的經驗教學和研究可持續農業,可持續飲食和食品系統的概念。 我們的許多教師都是全國知名的,並被公認為各自領域的領導者。
  • 公認的可持續發展領導力: Prescott College 在高等教育可持續發展教學方面建立了良好的聲譽。 
  • 學生品種:我們的學生遍布美國和全球,帶來了廣泛的觀點和經驗,這些觀點和經驗在碩士課程中是無法獲得的,這些碩士課程吸引了來自同一地理區域的大多數學生。
  • 經過驗證的在線學習系統和小班:我們的學生可以專注於他們的學習,而不是處理技術故障。 此外,我們保持班級規模小(每個部分通常不超過20學生)。 這可確保您與同學進行有意義的互動,並獲得教師的個性化關注。

 

  • 制定複雜的系統方法,以了解可持續糧食系統,其歷史發展,生態基礎,社會經濟動態,政策方面和創造當代糧食系統的文化價值觀
  • 了解農業生態系統和生態系統服務,以便將最佳做法應用於不同生物區域的不同規模的蔬菜,水果,藥用植物和畜牧業
  • 展示分析食品系統不同組成部分的能力 - 來源,生產,加工,分配,準備,消費和廢物 - 以評估經濟,生態和社會正義與可持續性
  • 運用專業和分析技能來建立和鼓勵可持續實踐,以利用社區,企業,非營利部門和/或決策機構內的糧食系統變革
  • 為食品系統分析和可持續性影響測量應用定量和定性方法和工具,以應對當地和全球糧食系統的挑戰
  • 認識和分析問題和機遇,並為當地和全球糧食系統問題制定解決方案,整合(1)食品系統功能領域的技能和知識,以及(2)食品系統動力學的跨學科分析

 

  • 註冊營養師
  • 烹飪學院的教師
  • Entreprenuers
  • 農場經理
  • 校園農場經理
  • 市場園丁
  • 教師
  • 營養教育者
  • 農業推廣代理
  • 食品服務總監/食品中心經理
  • 當地食品採購專員
  • 農場到餐桌計劃協調員和董事
  • 有機倡導組織的政策主任
  • 非營利計劃主任

 

  • 完成申請
  • 文章
  • 最新的簡歷
  • 參考清單
  • 官方成績單
可持續食品系統(MS)系
羅賓卡里

羅賓卡里

可持續糧食系統學院

robin.currey@prescott.edu

Wendy Sue Harper

Wendy Sue Harper

可持續糧食系統副學院

wendysue.harper@prescott.edu

Hava Villaverde

Hava Villaverde

可持續發展領導力學院

hava.villaverde@prescott.edu

莎倫帕爾默

莎倫帕爾默

可持續糧食系統副學院

sharon.palmer@prescott.edu

金伯利·格里森

金伯利·格里森

獨立研究學院副教授,可持續食品系統,可持續發展教育

kimberley.greeson@prescott.edu

Prescott College Master of Science Sustainable Food Systems

Sustainable Food Systems (MS)

Signature Courses
Food System Biodiversity: Sustainable Diets
Theory and Practice in Agroecological Systems
Social Values and Value Chains: Farm to Plate Sustainability
Place, Sustainability and Diets: Eco-nutrition
Food Justice and Sustainable Food Systems
Organization Transformation and Sustainable Leadership
Food System Biodiversity: Conservation in the Marketplace
Food and Agriculture: Advance Policy

Earn a Master of Science in Sustainable Food Systems (MSFS) at Prescott College and support the strengthening of communities and their members by helping people re(build) healthy, just and sustainable food systems. In today’s world of complex food, nutrition, and agriculture systems, we need leaders with a deep knowledge of the economic, ecological, and social forces driving food systems. Our Master of Science in Sustainable Food Systems prepares you for a graduate-level interdisciplinary understanding of sustainable agriculture and diets.

Your course assignments  have you applying the skills and knowledge you acquire and engaging with one another and your instructors in asynchronous discussions. Discussions and course assignments are intended to be tailored to your specific area of interest in food systems and your bioregion providing you with the opportunity to also learn about your peers’ bioregions and food systems interests.  

Our program offers optional concentrations across three distinct areas of focus: 

Sustainable Diets and Biodiversity: This concentration is designed for students who work in nutrition, culinary nutrition, public health, and other sustainable food system fields where knowledge about diverse diets with low environmental impacts can play an important role in ensuring food and nutrition security.  Students concentrating in Sustainable Diets and Biodiversity will take nine credits of context courses. Assignments in all courses and the capstone are tailored by students to ensure that food and nutrition security, health and wellbeing will be at the forefront when considering one’s food system. The concentration challenges students to understand dietary diversity as an ecosystem service, nutrition-sensitive agricultural value chains and how to build resilience into fragile and fleeting diet and knowledge systems. 

Food Justice: This concentration is designed for students who seek to shift global, industrial food systems towards more equitable, just, and sustainable foodways. Food justice can be measured through a community’s ability to acquire healthy food (food access), and its right to define its own food systems (food sovereignty). Students concentrating in Food Justice will take nine credits of context courses. Students should also tailor their assignments in all courses to ensure that they deepen their understanding of how institutional racism and classism prevent certain communities from accessing healthy and culturally appropriate food so that sustainable food systems solutions can be developed. 

Food Entrepreneurship: This concentration is designed for students who have a vision for impacting food system change through self-employment or another entrepreneurial endeavor who are seeking knowledge about how businesses can play an important role in ensuring food and nutrition security. Students concentrating in Food Entrepreneurship will take nine credits of context courses. Students should also tailor their assignments in all courses to ensure that they deepen their understanding of how to improve organizational success through social and environmental performance as change agents as well as improving their ability to build organizational strategies for sustainability.
 

When dealing with issues like nutrition and food security we have to get it right. The Prescott College Sustainable Food Systems program is all about learning about what matters most about food from ecological, nutritional, anthropological and financial perspectives.  Dr. Robin Currey, Program Director, Sustainable Food Systems  

We recognize that people working in changing food systems tend to be rooted in place, and the MSFS program allows students to remain committed to their communities and professions. Not only do students explore their own bioregional foodsheds, but they also contrast their findings with students from other parts of the U.S. and abroad, enhancing their understanding of food system dynamics and leverage points for change.

  • Bioregional Approach: The Prescott College master’s degree programs combine the best of online learning with intensive locally applied experience. We call it a bioregional approach to distance education. Rather than learning about food systems solely through examples in a textbook, students use their local foodsheds as laboratories in which to experiment with new concepts and skills.
  • Leading Faculty: Our faculty possess in-depth experience teaching and researching concepts in sustainable agriculture, sustainable diets, and food systems. Many of our faculty are nationally known and recognized as leaders in their fields.
  • Recognized for Leadership in Sustainability: Prescott College has built a national reputation for teaching sustainability in higher education. 
  • Student Variety: Our students span the United States and the globe, bringing a breadth of perspectives and experiences that are not available in masters programs that draw the majority of their students from the same geographic area.
  • Proven Online Learning System and Small Classes: Our students can focus on their studies, not on dealing with technological glitches. In addition, we keep our class size small (generally no more than 20 students per section). This ensures that you have meaningful interactions with your fellow students and receive individualized attention from your instructors.

 

  • Develop a complex systems approach to understanding sustainable food systems, their historical development, ecological foundations, socio-economic dynamics, policy aspects and the cultural values that create contemporary food systems
  • Develop an understanding of agroecological production systems and ecosystem services in order to apply best practices to vegetable, fruit, medicinal plant and livestock sectors, at different scales in different bioregions
  • Demonstrate the ability to analyze different components of a food system -- origins, production, processing, distribution, preparation, consumption and waste -- in order to assess economic, ecological, and social justice and sustainability
  • Apply professional and analytical skills to build and encourage sustainable practices to leverage food system change within communities, businesses, the non-profit sector, and/or policymaking organizations
  • Apply quantitative and qualitative methods and tools for food system analyses and sustainability impact measurement in order to address local and global food system challenges
  • Recognize and analyze problems and opportunities and develop solutions for local and global food system issues that integrate (1) skills and knowledge of the functional areas of food systems and (2) the interdisciplinary analysis of food system dynamics

 

  • Registered Dietitians
  • Faculty at Culinary Institutes
  • Entreprenuers
  • Farm Managers
  • Campus Farm Managers
  • Market Gardeners
  • Teachers
  • Nutrition Educators
  • Agricultural Extension Agents
  • Food Service Director/Food Hub Manager
  • Local Food Procurement Specialist
  • Farm-to-Table Program Coordinators and Directors
  • Policy Directors for Organic Advocacy Organizations
  • Non-Profit Program Director

 

  • Completed Application
  • Essay
  • Current resume
  • Letter(s) of Recommendation
  • Official transcripts

Chris Brooks

Instruction|Associate Faculty

chris.brooks@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/robin.currey_856345956.jpeg

Robin Currey

Instruction|Faculty / Director, Sustainable Food Systems

robin.currey@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/lori.curtis_359810180.jpeg

Lori Curtis

Instruction|Associate Faculty, Sustainable Food Systems

lori.curtis@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/sharon.palmer_818279383.jpeg

Sharon Palmer

Instruction|Associate Faculty

sharon.palmer@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/lisa.trocchia_1213512426.jpeg

Lisa Trocchia

Instruction|Associate Faculty

lisa.trocchia@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/hava.villaverde_493379276.jpeg

Hava Villaverde

Instruction|Associate Faculty

hava.villaverde@prescott.edu