本科學位

實地研究

本科學位 Prescott College

我們生活在一個相互聯繫的世界中,這就是為什麼我們提供跨越學習領域的教育,匯集各個領域的知識。

At Prescott College,教育是個人的。 忘記標準,一刀切的程度。 在這裡,您將有機會制定與您一樣獨特的學位計劃。 您也不僅限於構建計劃的單一學習領域,因此請讓您的激情和興趣指導您。 無論您的學習領域如何,都是如此 Prescott College 程序有一個體驗組件 - 為您提供您所在領域的寶貴經驗。

您是否正在尋找更靈活的學位課程? 我們為來自另一所學校的學生提供在線學士學位和慷慨的轉學計劃。 您將有機會遵循現有的學位課程,或者與我們一起在幾個學習領域設計學位。

無論您是尋求傳統的校園體驗還是在線本科學習體驗的靈活性,我們都可以選擇滿足您的需求和未來目標以及改變遊戲規則的教師。

我們提供基於實地的課程,如基諾灣海洋研究,大峽谷學期,肯尼亞多普羅中心文化和區域研究,邊境研究等。

查看所有學位

Prescott College 已經確定了本科學習中普通教育的六種學習成果。 確定的每個學習成果都是對此的承諾 Prescott College的使命。
•人文和藝術知識
•全球文化素養
•公民參與
•生態素養
•查詢,分析和綜合技能
•自我指導和終身學習的技巧

人文與藝術知識
對文學,語言和藝術的欣賞提供了在閱讀,寫作,解決問題,溝通,表現和藝術創作方面追求批判性和創造性方法所需的基礎知識。 對人文和藝術的全面理解有助於發展知情的審美,有效的溝通和表演技巧,以及洞察不同的文化和藝術感受,形式,背景和歷史。

全球文化素養
全球文化素養包括學術和個人對我們作為人類和社區的相互依賴深度的理解。 它涉及對我們所面臨的挑戰的認識,並且必須作為一個全球社區加以解決。 它需要能夠批判性地分析權力在地區和社會中的分配方式,並追溯社會,政治和經濟不平等的歷史根源和當前現實。 它涉及了解世界的不同文化,關於性別和性別,種族,宗教和種族的差異,以及在更大的特權體系中發展與自己和自己的立場的關係。 要在這方面進行識字,就是要學會傾聽,分享和回報,通過批判意識,謙遜和承諾來跨越不平等的權力。

公民參與
公民參與需要結合知識,技能和動機,以便在從地方到全球的社區中創造積極的社會變革。 它可能涉及個人或集體的政治或非政治活動
這種關注表明學習的個性化,道德推理以及對社區有潛在利益的社會行動。

生態文化
生態識字的基礎是對未受干擾的自然系統的理解,以及人類對這些系統的完整性和生命多樣性的影響。 生態識字涉及探索人類與自然界的歷史和當前關係以及維持所有生命的過程。 它最終促進了人類社區與自然界之間的健康關係。

研究,分析和綜合技巧
調查是通過收集和分析導致知情結論或判斷的證據來探索問題,事實或工作的系統過程。 分析是將復雜的主題或問題分解為多個部分以便更好地理解它們的過程; 綜合是將離散元素動態組裝成新的整體或系統。 探究,分析和綜合技能包括使用研究技術,數學和其他定性和定量學術方法作為學習能力和廣度的工具的能力。

自我導向和終身學習的技巧
終身學習所涉及的技能和傾向是好奇心,轉移,獨立,主動性和反思。 終身學習取決於成為一名自主學習者的能力,該學習者整合併運用這些技能和能力來提高她或他的知識,技能和能力,以應對終生遇到的新挑戰。

學士學位後證書
學生可以在完成學士學位的同時參加課程,以獲得環境教育,基礎教育或中等教育的證書。 如果您已經獲得了學士學位,您可以在一年內獲得證書!

研究生證書
獲得學士學位的學生可以參加我們在冒險心理治療,生態療法,馬匹輔助心理健康或表達藝術治療方面的任何獨特創新研究生證書。

荒野定位

沙漠山或峽谷探險
學生可以選擇參加Wilderness Orientation:在偏遠的沙漠山脈和亞利桑那州的峽谷中進行為期三週的背包探險。 學生通過嚴格的野外旅行,地圖和荒野導航,以及通過研究他們的路線的自然和文化歷史,培養一種地方感並與西南部建立聯繫。 學生通過課程重點關注人際交往,小組過程,最重要的是同情和尊重他人及自己,成為社區的功能和有價值的成員。 通過個人研究項目,獨立體驗,領導力培訓和服務項目,學生將全面參與這一跨學科的文科課程。 此外,Wilderness Orientation滿足了學生對基於實地的課程所需的基礎領域先決條件。 憑藉我們自1968以來作為戶外定位編程先驅的歷史,您可以放心,我們的背包路線是可實現的和可訪問的,我們的戶外教育教練是經驗豐富的導遊和冒險教育工作者,我們廣泛的風險管理和安全實踐經過了很好的審查。

基於社區的定位

學生還可以選擇參加基於社區的入學培訓。 這個迎新課程旨在讓新學生以非荒野或遠征的形式指導學院獨特的教育理念,結構和社區。 相反,通過個人研究項目,服務學習機會,日間徒步旅行,實地考察以及可能的獨立體驗,學生可以培養一種地方感,探索新家的生態,政治和文化歷史。 通過建立與西南,彼此的連接,和 Prescott College學生努力成為一個有價值的社區的有效成員,同時學習人際交往和領導技能,最重要的是,同情和尊重他人和自己。 為了幫助那些有身體,家庭,醫療或其他需求的學生,本課程以普雷斯科特為基礎,經常實地考察,並可能延長實地過夜時間。 但請注意,本課程不符合許多實地課程所要求的現場先決條件的要求 Prescott College。 註冊取決於Orientation Director的批准。

無論您參與哪種方向,成功完成這種密集體驗都需要高度的承諾。 您應該計劃阻止這段時間專注於您的教育。

學生有機會學習沉浸式野外課程和令人興奮的野外工作站。 基諾灣中心提供海洋研究,海洋生物學,海洋保護的一個月和一學期課程。 肯尼亞的Dopoi中心允許學生使用各種社會科學鏡頭來了解可持續性,保護和文化範例,並通過學術活動來發展現實生活中的解決方案。

學生還可以註冊完整的實地學期,例如:大峽谷學期,Tuscon K-20 Changemaker校園邊境研究,Ecosa生態設計,社區(自下而上)方法,以保護自然和文化資源。哥斯達黎加。

因為 Prescott College 參加CIEL和EcoLeague,我們的學生也有機會與其他成員機構一起參加交換學期。

所有學士學位的學生都在 Prescott College 有機會追求加速碩士學位,縮短完成兩個學位的時間。

對加速碩士學位感興趣的學生適用於他們的碩士學位課程
大三的選擇。 選項包括:

  • 藝術碩士有限公司駐有探險教育,環境研究,藝術
  • 和人文,教育
  • 社會公正和社區組織在線/校園的藝術碩士
  • 在線藝術碩士
  • 在線輔導科學碩士
  • 教育碩士有限公司居住
  • 工商管理碩士 - 可持續發展領導力
  • 科學大師:
  • 環境研究
  • 可持續和有彈性的社區
  • 可持續食品系統

一旦被錄取,他們將獲得完成本科學位和碩士學位的碩士課程
開始攻讀研究生學位。 本科學生應諮詢他們的學術顧問
以及申請前的研究生課程主席。

主要優點:

  • 您將節省時間並節省碩士學位的學費。
  • 擁有碩士學位的學生通常更適合雇主。
  • 你可以賺更多的錢。

學生支付本科學費以加快課程作業

  • 第一次為學生免費提供一年全額學費
  • 轉學生可免費獲得一學期學費

可以在第五年完成文學碩士和教育碩士學位。 諮詢理學碩士課程可能需要另外一學期。

查看所有學位

Prescott College 是兩大學院財團的成員之一 EcoLeague學習創新環境聯盟 (CIEL),以及可以進入北美可持續發展聯盟,讓學生可以訪問截然不同的校園文化。

學習創新環境聯盟(CIEL)是11學院的“替代”學院和大學聯盟。 共同強調創新教學將CIEL的學校聯繫在一起。 CIEL的各種學校都可以使用 Prescott College 學生們提供大量的課程,以豐富他們的本科生經歷。

CIEL學校

  • 常青州立大學
  • WWU的費爾黑文學院
  • 新罕布什爾州
  • 萬寶路
  • 阿拉巴馬州的新學院
  • 佛羅里達新學院
  • Prescott College
  • Bennington College
  • 威斯敏斯特學院
  • 個性化研究學院
  • 奎斯特大學
  • 赫斯特大學

EcoLeague學生交流中心為本科生提供從太平洋到大西洋沿岸以及從亞熱帶到亞北極的環境學習。 任何領域的學生都可以利用與其他院校廣泛學科的優秀教師合作。 EcoLeague的六所以學生為中心的小型學院分享了尋求解決當代環境問題和提高環境意識的目標。 這些機構在社會變革和培養學生建立可持續社區方面也有著相似的使命和價值觀。 學生交流,最多兩個非連續學期,對任何已成功完成至少大一學年且能在申請中明確表達他/她將如何從這個機會中受益的學生開放。

EcoLeague會員機構

縮圖
縮圖
縮圖
縮圖
縮圖
縮圖
改變遊戲規則的教師
http://my-archive.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/gretchen.gano_2144893042.jpeg

格雷琴加諾

指令|核心課程學院/主任

gretchen.gano@prescott.edu

http://my-archive.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/forrest.schwartz_995013696.jpeg

福雷斯特施瓦茨

指令|研究生探險教育碩士/導演

forrest.schwartz@prescott.edu

Undergraduate Degrees

Field Studies

Undergraduate Degrees at Prescott College

We live in an interconnected world, which is why we provide an education that spans areas of study and brings together knowledge from various fields.

At Prescott College, education is personal. Forget a standard, one-size-fits-all degree. Here, you’ll have the opportunity to craft a degree plan that is as unique as you are. You won’t be limited to a single area of study in building your plan either, so let your passions and interests guide you. Regardless of your area of study, all Prescott College programs have an experiential component—giving you valuable experience in your field. 

Are you looking for more flexible degree options? We offer online bachelors degrees through our limited-residency format. You come to campus for an orientation and then complete your coursework in your community. You’ll have the opportunity to design your degree within several study areas.

Whether you are seeking a traditional on-campus experience or the flexibility of an online undergraduate learning experience, we have an option to fit your needs and future goals and game-changing faculty. 

We offer field based courses like Marine Studies in Kino Bay, Grand Canyon Semester, Cultural and Regional Studies in Kenya at the Dopoi Center, Border Studies, etc.  

View All Degrees

 

Prescott College has identified six learning outcomes for general education in undergraduate studies. Each learning outcome identified is a commitment to Prescott College’s mission.
• Humanities and Arts Knowledge
• Global Cultural Literacy
• Civic Engagement
• Ecological Literacy
• Skills for Inquiry, Analysis, and Synthesis
• Skills for Self-Direction and Lifelong Learning

Humanities and Arts Knowledge
An appreciation of literature, language, and the arts provides the foundational knowledge needed to pursue critical and creative approaches to reading, writing, problem solving, communication, performance, and the making of art. A well-rounded understanding of the humanities and the arts supports the development of an informed aesthetic, effective communication and performance skills, and insight into different cultural and artistic sensibilities, forms, contexts, and histories. 

Global Cultural Literacy
Global cultural literacy involves both an academic and a personal understanding of the depth of our interdependence as human beings and communities. It involves an awareness of the challenges that we face and must address as a global community. It requires the ability to critically analyze the ways that power is distributed within regions and societies and to trace the historical roots and current reality of social, political and economic inequality. It involves knowing about diverse cultures of the world, about differences of gender and sexuality, race, religion and ethnicity, and developing a relationship with oneself and one’s own position within larger systems of privilege. To be literate in this area is to learn to listen, share and reciprocate, to reach across borders of unequal power with critical awareness, humility, and commitment.

Civic Engagement
Civic engagement requires a combination of knowledge, skills, and motivation that are applied with the intention of creating positive social change in communities ranging from local to global. It may involve political or non-political activities of individual or collective
concern that demonstrate personalization of learning, ethical reasoning, and social action of potential benefit to the community.

Ecological Literacy
Ecological literacy is based on an understanding of unperturbed natural systems and an examination of human impact on the integrity of those systems and the diversity of life. Ecological literacy involves exploring humanity's historic and current relationship with the natural world and the processes that sustain all life. It ultimately fosters healthy relationships between human communities and the natural world.

Skills for Inquiry, Analysis, and Synthesis
Inquiry is a systematic process of exploring issues, facts, or works through the collection and analysis of evidence that result in informed conclusions or judgments. Analysis is the process of breaking complex topics or issues into parts to gain a better understanding of them; synthesis is the dynamic assembly of discrete elements into new wholes or systems. Skills for inquiry, analysis, and synthesis include the capacity to use research techniques, mathematics, and other qualitative and quantitative scholarly methods as tools for learning in the competence and the breadths.

Skills for Self-Direction and Lifelong Learning
The skills and dispositions involved in lifelong learning are curiosity, transfer, independence, initiative, and reflection. Lifelong learning depends on the ability to be a self-directed learner who integrates and applies these skills and abilities to improve her or his knowledge, skills, and competence to meet new challenges throughout life.

Post-Baccalaureate Certificates
Students can enroll in coursework to obtain their certificate in Environmental Education, Elementary Education, or Secondary Education while completing their bachelor’s degree. If you’ve already earned your bachelor’s degree, you can earn your certificate in just one year!

Graduate Certificates
Students who have earned a bachelor’s degree may enroll in any of our unique, innovative graduate certificates in Adventure-Based Psychotherapy, Ecotherapy, Equine Assisted Mental Health or Expressive Arts Therapy.

Wilderness Orientation

Desert Mountain or Canyon Expedition
Students can choose to enroll in Wilderness Orientation: a three-week backpacking expedition in the remote desert mountains and canyons of Arizona. Students develop a sense of place and make connections to the Southwest through rigorous backcountry travel, map and wilderness navigation, and by studying the natural and cultural history of their route.  Students become functional and valuable members of the community through curriculum that focuses on interpersonal communication, group process, and most importantly, compassion and respect for others and themselves. Through individual research projects, a solo experience, leadership training, and service projects, students participate fully in this interdisciplinary Liberal Arts course.  Additionally, Wilderness Orientation satisfies the foundational field prerequisite that students will need for field-based courses.  With our history as a pioneer of outdoor orientation programming since 1968, you can rest assured that our backpacking routes are achievable and accessible, our staff of outdoor education instructors are experienced guides and adventure educators, and our extensive risk management and safety practices are well vetted.  

Community-Based Orientation

Students can also choose to enroll in Community-Based Orientation.  This Orientation course is intended to orient new students to the college’s unique educational philosophy, structure, and community in a non-wilderness or expeditionary format.  Instead, through the context of, individual research projects, service learning opportunities, day hikes, field trips, and a possible solo experience, students develop a sense of place and explore the ecological, political, and cultural histories of their new home. By building connections to the Southwest, one another, and Prescott College, students strive to become functioning members of an invaluable community while learning interpersonal communication and leadership skills, and most importantly, compassion and respect for others and one's self. To help accommodate those students with physical, familial, medical, or other needs, this course is based in Prescott with frequent field trips and possible extended field-based overnights. Please note however, that this course does not satisfy the requirements for a field prerequisite required for many field courses at Prescott College. Enrollment is dependent on Orientation Director approval.

Regardless of the type of Orientation you are engaged in, successful completion of this intensive experience requires a high degree of commitment. You should plan on blocking out this time for exclusive focus on your education.

Students have opportunity to study in immersive field courses and at exciting field stations. The Kino Bay Center offers both one-month and semester courses in Marine Studies, Marine Biology, Marine Conservation. The Dopoi Center in Kenya allows students to use various social science lenses to understand sustainability, conservation, and cultural paradigms and develop real life solutions through academic activism.

Students can also register for full field semesters such as: Grand Canyon Semester, Border Studies out of our Tuscon K-20 Changemaker campus, Ecological Design with Ecosa, community-based (bottom-up) approaches to the conservation of natural and cultural resources in Costa Rica. 

Because Prescott College participates in CIEL and EcoLeague, our students also have the opportunity to participate in exchange semesters with other member institutions. 

All bachelor’s degree-seeking students at Prescott College have the opportunity to pursue an accelerated master’s, which shortens their time to completion of both degrees.

Students interested in an accelerated master’s degree apply to the master’s program of their
choice in their junior year. Options include: 

  • Masters of Arts Limited Residency in Adventure Education, Environmental Studies, Arts
  • and Humanities, and Education
  • Masters of Arts in Social Justice and Community Organizing Online/On Campus
  • Masters of Arts Online
  • Masters of Science in Counseling Online
  • Masters of Education Limited Residency
  • Master of Business Administration - Sustainability Leadership
  • Master of Science:
  • Environmental Studies
  • Sustainable and Resilient Communities
  • Sustainable Food Systems

Once accepted, they take master’s level courses that complete their undergraduate degree and
begin their graduate degree. Undergraduate students should consult with their academic advisor
as well as the Chair of the Graduate Program prior to applying.

 

Key benefits: 

  • You'll save time and save on tuition for your master's degree.
  • Students with master’s degrees are often more desirable candidates for employers.
  • You may earn more money.

Students pay the undergraduate tuition rate for accelerated coursework

  • One full year tuition free for first time students 
  • One semester tuition free for transfer students

​​The Master of Arts and Master of Education degrees can be completed in the fifth year. The Master of Science in Counseling may take an additional semester.

View All Degrees

Prescott College is a member of two major college consortia, the EcoLeague and the Consortium for Innovative Environments in Learning (CIEL), as well as having access to the Consortium for North American Sustainability, giving students access to vastly different campus cultures.

The Consortium for Innovative Environments in Learning (CIEL) is an 11-college consortium of “alternative” colleges and universities. A common emphasis on innovative teaching unites the schools in the CIEL. The wide range of schools in CIEL makes available to Prescott College students a significant array of offerings to enrich their undergraduate experience.

CIEL Schools

  • Evergreen State College
  • Fairhaven College at WWU
  • Hampshire
  • Marlboro
  • New College at Alabama
  • New College of FLorida
  • Prescott College
  • Bennington College
  • Westminster College
  • School of Individualized Studies
  • Quest University
  • Universite' de Hearst

The EcoLeague Student Exchange offers undergraduate students access to study in environments ranging from the Pacific to Atlantic coasts and from the subtropics to the subarctic. Students in any field can take advantage of working with talented faculty in a broad array of disciplines at other institutions. The six small, student-centered colleges in the EcoLeague share the goals of seeking solutions to contemporary environmental problems and of raising environmental awareness. The institutions also share similar missions and values regarding social change and in preparing students to build sustainable communities.  The Student Exchange, which is for a maximum of two, non-consecutive semesters, is open to any student who has successfully completed at least his/her freshman year and who can clearly articulate in the application how he/she would benefit from this opportunity.

EcoLeague Member Institutions

Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Game Changing Faculty
http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/gretchen.gano_2144893042.jpeg

Gretchen Gano

Instruction|Faculty / Director, Core Curriculum

gretchen.gano@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/cecil.goodman_1358380841.jpeg

Cecil Goodman

Instruction|Faculty / Director, Orientation

cgoodman@prescott.edu

9283502305

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/Array_665462039.jpeg

Sebastienne Grant

Instruction|Faculty / Director, MA in Critical Psychology

amanda.grant@prescott.edu

http://my.prescott.edu/resources/ajax/portraits/forrest.schwartz_995013696.jpeg

Forrest Schwartz

Instruction|Faculty / Director, MA in Graduate Adventure Education

forrest.schwartz@prescott.edu